Eggplant Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Made this recipe, and have since passed it on several times. Absolutely delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Corbett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This is one of the best recipes I've made in a long long while! I want to preface this post by saying that I am very picky about my food and won't rate something that's "just okay" with a 5-star review. This is worth making! Like the other reviewers, I made a couple changes. I salted the sliced eggplant first, let sit for an hour, washed off and drained prior to cooking. I also used olive oil and butter to fry them (you will need more than 1 tablespoon - just fyi. I left off the muenster cheese, and instead used parm, mozzarella, and feta. I also sauteed my onions before layering them in baking dish. This was fantastic and something I plan on making over and over again!! I made a small side of spaghetti with this and drizzled a little bit of the sauce over the eggplant once it was done - delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Ummmm, my husband says 5 stars. I forgot to fry the eggplant first but it turned out great and probably healthier. I used red onion because I had it on hand and mozzarella cheese instead of muenster for the same reason. Added parsley, oregano, basil, garlic powder, and a little cayenne pepper. I baked it on the grill and served with grilled brats, which turned out to be good complementary flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Mory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I followed suggestions to oven bake the eggplant, because I don't do a very good job frying eggplant. HOWEVER, the BEST idea is to layer a section of the eggplant/tomato/cheese on avocado on top of toasted whole grain bread. The most fantastic breakfast sandwich....YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tommy Gun
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Thank You!! I changed the cheese a little and added Green Pepper strips. This dish is the bomb! This is full of great flavor and is easy to make. Could be a great appetizer also. I say fill the dish not just the eggplant, as I did, (was still good) For all reading this go for it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jdawson4993
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Delicious! Baked the eggplant for about 10 minutes each side , cooked onions mushrooms and tomato together. Placed on top of cooked eggplant, layered cheese and baked another 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
The way I cooked this, it ended up more like eggplant Parmesan than anything else, but it was excellent! Instead of the sliced tomatoes, I used tomato saucse. Because I felt the muenster and feta clashed with the overall Italian-ness of the recipe, I used Parmesan and mozzarella. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is my new eggplant recipe. It was fabulous. I didn't have feta cheese so I used pepper jack and Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I had to modify this because of some dietary restrictions so some of the other suggestions were helpful. I had never heard of salting the slices, but tried it even though I only had 15 min. to let them sit. I couldn't use egg or bread crumbs; I just drizzled the slices with olive oil and sprinkled them with Italian seasoning. I baked 14 min. then turned them over. I roasted 2 cloves of chopped garlic with onion slices then 7 min. after flipping placed tomato slices, tofu mozzarella cheese, then topped with the onion/garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
bf and i enjoyed this.. i'm always feeling like i undercook eggplant and this was the case again but we didn't mind too much.. maybe it was the size of my eggplant but i was able to get away with only 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs, one egg, half an onion, and one large beefsteak tomato.. didn't measure the cheeses and used jack cheese for the muenster.. using tips from other reviewers i made sure to sweat the eggplant, baked rather than fried, and sprinkled italian seasoning over the tomatoes.. bf said it made him think of little mini pizza's.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States