Eggplant and Tomato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this tonight and it was good . The only thing I did differently was lightly brush olive oil over the eggplant, then layered without frying the eggplant (I was in a hurry and trying to cut a step out). I really enjoyed the combination of the tomatoes, eggplant, and balsamic vinegar. The breadcrumbs toasted up nicely on top and gave the needed texture. I topped with grated Parmesan cheese but I don't think it would be necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanea Rucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I read the reviews and did not make it with vinegar. I just added the cheese. I used a combo of shredded cheddar and parmasen cheese. I also used fresh garlic and herbs. It turned out very well, I think it is very important to season the eggplant before browning and season it well while browning!! I also, peeled the skin off! My family very much enjoyed it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I used Italian Breadcrumbs, and realized my balsamic was actually a balsamic vinaigrette, and added cheese on top. Loved it. I was pleasantly surprised after reading the negative reviews since I haven't eaten eggplant in years. It was just a small homegrown eggplant so only 1 layer of everything. But I loved it with Rosemary/Thyme Roasted Chicken and a sprinkle of Parm on the top. I think the vinaigrette took the heavy vinegar taste away. But will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zest4life

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
The whole family just loved this dish. The balsamic vinegar was terrific in it and made it so flavorful. I oven roasted the onion slices and the eggplant slices before assembling the casserole the second time I made it, and it made it eve more flavorful. I made this two nights out of four............we liked it so well! This recipe will be part of my favorite vegetable dishes Thank you so much for a really terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was delicious!1 If you don't like Balsamic Vinegar, don't try this. I also browned my onions while browning the eggplant I ended it with pouring the vinegar all over eggplant, tomatoes & onions.. then put my breadcrumbs...than added Slices of Gouda cheese. Added bread crumbs on the gouda. It doesn't quite melt just browns...This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Right off the bat one can see this could be more flavorful so I added garlic and cut some fresh cilantro into the dish before baking and yes, it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Love this! My non-eggplant-eating family members really like this as well. It is super easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This recipe was delicious! I actually modified it somewhat. I briefly sauteed the eggplant in a spoonful of coconut oil instead of olive oil, but only on one side (I was in a hurry!). I layered them with the onions and tomatoes, but also added thinly sliced potatoes and patty pan squash. I used a really nice, fresh olive oil from a specialty store and then...totally forgot the balsamic vinegar. However, I stuck just a tiny handful of little bits of smoked gouda in the top layer. I baked this for 30 min or so and it was AWESOME!! Served it with cheese tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great recipe. I did not have bread crumbs so I crushed crutons..I add a little cheese otherwise prefect taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States