Eggplant and Tomato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
we absolutly looved this recipie!!!! but we did make some changes... i did not use balsamic vinegar. i also added some cheese, italian seasoning, garlic salt and pepper. i also layered it twice in this order: eggplant,onion,tomatoes,cheese,breadcrumbs,spices...repeat. i will be making this dish often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaMay
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Ok, so I really changed this recipe. I put bread crumbs and cheese on top over every level of the eggplant. I also used white wine in place of the vinegar. My husband thought it was "incredable".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was excellent! I'm surprised the previous reviews have not been 5 stars. Definitely, an all-time favorite now! To reduce the fat, I baked the eggplant slices rather than frying them in oil. I also separated the half rings of onion when I layered them. I used homemade Italian-style breadcrumbs, too. I chose to serve it on the cool size of room temperature--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and thought it was terrible. The individuals who favored this dish added different components. As is, this dish needs some work. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I did not like this at all, and neither did my husband. It has a very strong vinegar flavor. I love eggplant, but I couldn't even taste it. And for an 8" pan, I think that 1 cup of breadcrumbs is too much. There was a thick layer of the crumbs just sitting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
My husband and I took one bite and both spit it back out. It's just eggplant, tomato, and onion soaked in vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
It needs a little something more... and would be much better without the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This has become one of my favorite recipes. I added a little sauteed fresh garlic and bell pepper. I also put 4 slices of provolone cheese under the bread crumbs. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kane, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Simple yet rich! Very delicious. The Balsamic Vinegar tied it all together very nicely. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Tastes way too vinegary. Other than that, very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States