Eggplant and Tomato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
we absolutly looved this recipie!!!! but we did make some changes... i did not use balsamic vinegar. i also added some cheese, italian seasoning, garlic salt and pepper. i also layered it twice in this order: eggplant,onion,tomatoes,cheese,breadcrumbs,spices...repeat. i will be making this dish often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaMay
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Ok, so I really changed this recipe. I put bread crumbs and cheese on top over every level of the eggplant. I also used white wine in place of the vinegar. My husband thought it was "incredable".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was excellent! I'm surprised the previous reviews have not been 5 stars. Definitely, an all-time favorite now! To reduce the fat, I baked the eggplant slices rather than frying them in oil. I also separated the half rings of onion when I layered them. I used homemade Italian-style breadcrumbs, too. I chose to serve it on the cool size of room temperature--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and thought it was terrible. The individuals who favored this dish added different components. As is, this dish needs some work. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I did not like this at all, and neither did my husband. It has a very strong vinegar flavor. I love eggplant, but I couldn't even taste it. And for an 8" pan, I think that 1 cup of breadcrumbs is too much. There was a thick layer of the crumbs just sitting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
My husband and I took one bite and both spit it back out. It's just eggplant, tomato, and onion soaked in vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
It needs a little something more... and would be much better without the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This has become one of my favorite recipes. I added a little sauteed fresh garlic and bell pepper. I also put 4 slices of provolone cheese under the bread crumbs. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kane, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Simple yet rich! Very delicious. The Balsamic Vinegar tied it all together very nicely. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Tastes way too vinegary. Other than that, very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States