Eggplant and Tomato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This casserole is so easy to make and very good. I definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
we absolutly looved this recipie!!!! but we did make some changes... i did not use balsamic vinegar. i also added some cheese, italian seasoning, garlic salt and pepper. i also layered it twice in this order: eggplant,onion,tomatoes,cheese,breadcrumbs,spices...repeat. i will be making this dish often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I think I would have liked it much better without the balsamic vinegar. Way too strong tasting for me. I think I can play with it some and make a few changes and it will be just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaba
Living In: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and thought it was terrible. The individuals who favored this dish added different components. As is, this dish needs some work. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaMay
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Ok, so I really changed this recipe. I put bread crumbs and cheese on top over every level of the eggplant. I also used white wine in place of the vinegar. My husband thought it was "incredable".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I did not like this at all, and neither did my husband. It has a very strong vinegar flavor. I love eggplant, but I couldn't even taste it. And for an 8" pan, I think that 1 cup of breadcrumbs is too much. There was a thick layer of the crumbs just sitting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
My husband and I took one bite and both spit it back out. It's just eggplant, tomato, and onion soaked in vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was very good, but i think i would prefer to serve it as a side dish instead of the main dish. To avoid undercooked onions, i sauteed them a little in some cooking spray. I did the same with the eggplant (no oil). I used a lot of onion, too. On the top, i sprinkled basil, paprika, and cayenne pepper (you could just use italian seasoned breadcrumbs). Then i drizzled it with pumpkin seed oil, instead of mixing it with olive oil. Very good, but a kind of weird texture. Not to serve to guests, i don't think. Just a family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This has become one of my favorite recipes. I added a little sauteed fresh garlic and bell pepper. I also put 4 slices of provolone cheese under the bread crumbs. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kane, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This is really tasty. Everyone wanted the recipe. I added maple flavored balsamic vinegar, just because that's what I had. Cut the onions and tomatoes very thin! It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States