Eggplant and Tomato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MamaMay
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Ok, so I really changed this recipe. I put bread crumbs and cheese on top over every level of the eggplant. I also used white wine in place of the vinegar. My husband thought it was "incredable".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I did not like this at all, and neither did my husband. It has a very strong vinegar flavor. I love eggplant, but I couldn't even taste it. And for an 8" pan, I think that 1 cup of breadcrumbs is too much. There was a thick layer of the crumbs just sitting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
My husband and I took one bite and both spit it back out. It's just eggplant, tomato, and onion soaked in vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was very good, but i think i would prefer to serve it as a side dish instead of the main dish. To avoid undercooked onions, i sauteed them a little in some cooking spray. I did the same with the eggplant (no oil). I used a lot of onion, too. On the top, i sprinkled basil, paprika, and cayenne pepper (you could just use italian seasoned breadcrumbs). Then i drizzled it with pumpkin seed oil, instead of mixing it with olive oil. Very good, but a kind of weird texture. Not to serve to guests, i don't think. Just a family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This has become one of my favorite recipes. I added a little sauteed fresh garlic and bell pepper. I also put 4 slices of provolone cheese under the bread crumbs. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kane, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This is really tasty. Everyone wanted the recipe. I added maple flavored balsamic vinegar, just because that's what I had. Cut the onions and tomatoes very thin! It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was excellent! I'm surprised the previous reviews have not been 5 stars. Definitely, an all-time favorite now! To reduce the fat, I baked the eggplant slices rather than frying them in oil. I also separated the half rings of onion when I layered them. I used homemade Italian-style breadcrumbs, too. I chose to serve it on the cool size of room temperature--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
I have to agree with the previous reviewer. My onions weren't done and plain crumbs made it, well, plain. I wouldn't try it again. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I found this recipe to be mediocre. I used prepackaged Italian bread crumbs for the topping, and I think fresh bread crumbs might've worked better. And more oil or butter added to the breadcrumbs. The onions weren't very tender after a 30-minute bake. I wouldn't make the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States