Eggplant and Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
very filling and hearty! i cheated though by cubibg the eggplant and cooking it with the onions. then i only had to cook it on the oven for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This was a very good base recipe, but I added a few more ingredients so I would enjoy it more. I used chickpeas (1/2 mashed, 1/2 whole) added chopped tomatoes, put in a layer of zuchinni, brushed balsamic vinegar over the eggplant before baking in the oven, and used whatever quantities of ingredients I thought would be good proportions. Five stars after my additions. Thanks Mai for the great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Excellent vegetarian recipe and probably one of the best uses of eggplant. For a single guy like me who is still finding his way around the kitchen, this dish turned out to be a great confidence builder, with plenty for left overs to boot! I would definitely increase the quantity of sauce and use a slightly heavier hand on the parmesan. Thank you for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
This recipe was surprisingly good. I was a bit skeptical of the yogurt, but you wouldn't have even known yogurt was in it once it was cooked. I had a jar of garlic tomato sauce so I used that instead of making my own. Since my husband and I are cheese lovers, I sprinkled a few tablespoons of shredded mozarella on top as well. It was so simple to make (especially using bottled sauce) and was so yummy we each had seconds. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was a big crowd pleaser for vegetarians and carnivores alike, and overall pretty easy to make! I sliced the eggplant into ~1/3 inch slices then cut each slice in half before sauteeing with the onions as others suggested (skipped the salting/steaming process entirely). Since so many people talked about the recipe needing more sauce, I used 28 oz crushed tomatoes with 15 oz diced tomatoes and thought the ratio turned out well. For the yogurt, I upped the amount to ~24 oz nonfat yogurt-- everyone was so surprised that it wasn't cheese that I think I'll begin using it as a healthier substitute going forward! I baked the layered dish for 30 minutes covered before uncovering to add the topping. I needed a bit more of the breadcrumb/Parmesan mixture to cover the entire pan- probably 1/2 cup combined. Baked that for another ~10 minutes then let cool a little before serving. I will be sharing this recipe with friends and definitely making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
I would have givin this 5 stars but I think it needs more sauce. So just increase the sauce a bit and you have a GREAT eggplant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Delicious and rustic, I served with crusty garlic bread and it was a huge hit! I also followed the suggestions of others and cubed the eggplant before cooking with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I was surprised at how delicious this turned out! I was skeptical after reading some of the reviews, but decided to try it out & was very happy I did! My husband (VERY picky eater) LOVED it, which is the ultimate test as he doesn't like much! I made a few modications though: I sweat the eggplant slices in a 3/4 vegetable oil 1/4 lemon juice mix with salt and pepper for about 40 minutes. Did not wash them off before steaming them, and as I don't have a steamer, I had to steam them in a heated pot (with a lid) adding a few Tablespoons of water. (they turned out pretty good!) I also used a 24 oz. pre-made garlic tomatoe sauce mix instead. As well as added some mozzerella in between the layers, and one dollop of cream cheese on top of each eggplant slice right in the middle.... This turned out delicious and I highly recommend it!! I followed the rest of the instructions almost exactly, but added more wheat germ and parm. cheese to the top than listed! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2000
as a male who hates [afaird] to cook,I have found this recepe,not only quick but easy and great tasting, my 15 year old is now impressed with his old man, thanks for this recipe Garth Mac
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
It was okay, but a little bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLHicks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States