Eggplant and Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I was surprised at how delicious this turned out! I was skeptical after reading some of the reviews, but decided to try it out & was very happy I did! My husband (VERY picky eater) LOVED it, which is the ultimate test as he doesn't like much! I made a few modications though: I sweat the eggplant slices in a 3/4 vegetable oil 1/4 lemon juice mix with salt and pepper for about 40 minutes. Did not wash them off before steaming them, and as I don't have a steamer, I had to steam them in a heated pot (with a lid) adding a few Tablespoons of water. (they turned out pretty good!) I also used a 24 oz. pre-made garlic tomatoe sauce mix instead. As well as added some mozzerella in between the layers, and one dollop of cream cheese on top of each eggplant slice right in the middle.... This turned out delicious and I highly recommend it!! I followed the rest of the instructions almost exactly, but added more wheat germ and parm. cheese to the top than listed! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was a big crowd pleaser for vegetarians and carnivores alike, and overall pretty easy to make! I sliced the eggplant into ~1/3 inch slices then cut each slice in half before sauteeing with the onions as others suggested (skipped the salting/steaming process entirely). Since so many people talked about the recipe needing more sauce, I used 28 oz crushed tomatoes with 15 oz diced tomatoes and thought the ratio turned out well. For the yogurt, I upped the amount to ~24 oz nonfat yogurt-- everyone was so surprised that it wasn't cheese that I think I'll begin using it as a healthier substitute going forward! I baked the layered dish for 30 minutes covered before uncovering to add the topping. I needed a bit more of the breadcrumb/Parmesan mixture to cover the entire pan- probably 1/2 cup combined. Baked that for another ~10 minutes then let cool a little before serving. I will be sharing this recipe with friends and definitely making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
A little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very Yummy!!! I made a few changes - I didn't steam the eggplant as long because I like the edges a little tougher (personal preference), and instead of topping with Parmesan cheese, I used mozzarella. Very good dish and relatively easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Delicious! Boyfriend who claims he HATES eggplant loved this dish. Easy prep especially because I didn't have to "sweat" the eggplant prior to cooking. I served over angelhair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was my first time trying eggplant. I'm glad I tried this recipe! My susbtitions/changes: -Sauteed the eggplant with the tomato sauce to save time -Did not add salt to reduce sodium (tomato puree & parm chees have enough) -Replaced breadcrumbs with flaxseed meal (reduces some of the carbs & flaxseed is so good for you) -Used minced garlic instead of whole cloves to save time It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. This dish was not for me and my family. Everyone made funny faces. I didn't care for it, so I told my children they didn't have to eat it after I saw their faces. This was our first time eating eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This was great! I tend to alter recipes so I used 1 can of diced tomatoes + 1 can of tomato paste for the sauce. Also, I used greek fat free yogurt, which made it really creamy. The yogurt tasted just like cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Mine came out watery, but I did not sweat the eggplant as the recipe said. I cubed it and sauted it with the onions. Next time I'll sweat the eggplant longer. Regardless it tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was delicious. I had to use tomato paste instead of puree (just added water to the thickness of my liking) and used light sour cream instead of the yogurt bc I didn't have any. Fantastic! Tasty & easy. Microwaved the eggplant as suggested. My breadcrumbs didn't get toasty enough but maybe I used too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States