Eggplant and Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Amazing recipe and pretty easy to make. I added some cumin to give it a bit of a smokey flavor. Will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Found it , tried it, liked it. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was pretty bland and a mess to make. I'm bummed because it seemed like an easier and healthier alternative to eggplant parm, but I was not happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I messed this up in a couple of ways...overcooked the eggplant in the micro (don't steam eggplant in the micro...just a bad idea), then crammed extra layers into a too-small pan, which promptly bubbled over in my oven. None of that mattered, however - this caserole looks very pretty and tastes tangy and awesome, even my husband loved it and he 'hates' eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
If I could rate this two-and-a-half stars I would. To describe it in one word I would say its mediocre. I was not very impressed and neither were my brothers. (Their not fond of anything without meat though.) I guess I expected more tomato since it is called eggplant and tomato bake. It also needs alot of salt. I'll stick with eggplant parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Way too much onion. My family did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMcFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I was in a hurry and didn't read reviews before making this. Wish I had because my family's opinion was it needed more sauce and more cheese. It really is a great tasting dish and I will use the ideas shared in other reviews the next time I make it. I'll make enough so I can try leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
It was a little bland for my family. But it is an extremely healthy dinner, so next time I'll spice it up a bit and I think they may like it then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
It was okay, but a little bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLHicks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I was surprised at how delicious this turned out! I was skeptical after reading some of the reviews, but decided to try it out & was very happy I did! My husband (VERY picky eater) LOVED it, which is the ultimate test as he doesn't like much! I made a few modications though: I sweat the eggplant slices in a 3/4 vegetable oil 1/4 lemon juice mix with salt and pepper for about 40 minutes. Did not wash them off before steaming them, and as I don't have a steamer, I had to steam them in a heated pot (with a lid) adding a few Tablespoons of water. (they turned out pretty good!) I also used a 24 oz. pre-made garlic tomatoe sauce mix instead. As well as added some mozzerella in between the layers, and one dollop of cream cheese on top of each eggplant slice right in the middle.... This turned out delicious and I highly recommend it!! I followed the rest of the instructions almost exactly, but added more wheat germ and parm. cheese to the top than listed! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States