Eggplant and Pepper Parmesan Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was a great recipe. A couple of suggestions. 1.) Make your own tapenade. It is easy to do and will be that much fresher. 2.) Cut the eggplant into 1/2 inch thick slices, lay out on a plate, and sprinkle with kosher salt. Flip and do the other side. Let sit for 30 min. Dab off the sweated moisture with a paper towel, sprinkle with a bit more kosher salt, and let sit for another 30 min. Rinse with cold water and completely dry with paper towel(s). Cut up into slices and bake, or leave as large slices and grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Great! Would not use too thick a bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Just made this recipe and the sandwich was great!!! adding this one to the recipe book for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was so yummy. My hubby and I are new to eggplant, but got a lot in our CSA this week so trying it out. I salted and pressed the eggplant for about two hours, then rinsed and baked. It was good, not bitter at all. I would say however that you need to make sure to oil the cookie sheet -- the eggplant stuck pretty good making it not very pretty. But it was covered in the sandwich anyway. I roasted peppers from our CSA as well for this, but couldn't find tapanade at the store, so just used a spicy red pepper mustard that tasted great with it. Delicious. Served it with roasted green beans. Great meal. My hubby said he would have been happy having it been served as a meal in a restaurant, which I think is a big compliment from him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Rhodes Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Even the teenagers ate this and loved it...enough said. It is a keeper just the way it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This sandwich is delicious and so easy to make. It was way better than I even thought it would be. I made my own tapenade, just using what I had: lemon juice, salt, pepper, olive oil, garlic, and thyme. This sandwich is great because it is so versatile, and great make to have on hand in the fridge, for lunch, snacks or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Amazing flavor!!!! I made ahead and sat in refrigerator well. I would just put in the toaster oven the next day and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Being a HUGE goat cheese fan, I thought I'd love these. They were good, but not fantastic. I also added grilled sweet onions. I also ended up adding kalamata olives and sundried tomatoes, which helped kick it up a little, but they were still missing something. I made 2 sandwiches with this recipe, and 2 using a mayo/garlic/lemon/feta sauce (aioli) in place of the goat cheese and olive tapenade, and the feta sandwich won hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Amazing! I made my own tapenade and this dish was just d'lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
YUM! We used Trader Joe's olive tapenade and jarred roasted yellow and red peppers. These were delicious--next time, I think I will leave out the bread entirely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States