Eggplant and Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe. I used shoulder steaks since that is what I had on hand. Prep work is the only "con" to this recipe. It took about 45 minutes to chop all the veggies (which my lovely husband did while I pain-stakingly picked every ounce of meat off the bones). I browned the chunks/shreds of lamb in the pot before adding the remaining ingredients. For me it was easier than fishing the bones out of the stew. I also soaked my chopped eggplant in salt water for about 30 min to an hour before cooking in stew (this helps to remove some of the bitterness from the eggplant). I also added a whole can (i think it was the 4 oz size) of tomato paste for a richer tomato base. The extra paste also helped thicken the liquid in this stew. I will be making this again and again. 4* for recipe as is, but is 5* with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Loved it, I used red wine instead of water, added some chilies for spice and put in an extra eggplant. I ate it with Brown Basmati Rice and a yogurt recipe from Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
We all had mixed feelings about this one. I followed the recipe for the most part, but added one can of diced tomatoes (28 oz) because I cooked it in the crockpot. (on low for 5 hours) The veggies all held up nicely and the meat was so tender. My husband thought it was just ok and my daughter picked out the meat and only ate some of the eggplant. I liked it a lot. The recipe makes a lot of food, so be prepared for leftovers. I guess I will have to eat ours as no one else will :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
What a great stew!! My husband said this was restaurant quality and is one of his favorite meals I have ever made. I tinkered with it just a bit... used left over leg of lamb and instead of water I used some of the lamb stock from the leg of lamb. I also added a bit of red pepper flakes as I thought it needed a bit of zip. This will be made again and again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Pretty good. I didn't let it simmer for the full hour and a half, probably just under an hour. I suggest mixing the allspice, salt and pepper in with the tomato-water mixture as it's more easily distributed in the stew that way. Also I added more peppers and eggplant than the recipe called for. Goes well with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Delicious!! Here are the changes I made. Instead of using whole tomatoes, I used a full can of diced tomatoes. I substituted the lamb with blade steak, and used four cloves of garlic. I skipped the tomato paste because I had none on hand. I added a sprinkle of sugar and let it simmer for 1.5 hours, covered. During the last 15 minutes, I added a tablespoon of cornstarch (mixed with some water) to the stew and took the cover off. Served over rice. A keeper and will take again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
this recipe was delicious!! i also added crushed red pepper and a whole can of tomato paste. i used lamb shoulder chops which are a bit easier to find than a piece of whole lamb shoulder. i added a ton more water than the recipe called for because of the tomato paste, but it gave it a much fuller flavor. also would be great to add potatos as a option as well. All in all it was a great dish if you are looking for a good lamb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Photo by SmittysPantry
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I enjoyed this lean, vegie laden stew and baked it in a clayware roaster for one and 1/2 hours. I browned the lamb first and de-boned the shoulder meat, smothered the vegies and then transfered all to the clayware at 350 degrees. It goes great over rice or bulgur rice. It's worth checking with the butcher to know when price breaks on the lamb shoulder are most likely. It fed 8 people. Hearty and colorful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I made this recipe not with lamb but with stew beef I needed to use up. I didn't have allspice so I substituted ground cloves and cinnamon, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. It came out super tasty and flavorful, and very healthy. I like the recommendation below about the wine. Next time I'll try that. Served with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This was a great meal! I used lamb stew meat, substituted ghee for butter, and wine for water. It was delicious served with brown rice and a cucumber-yogurt salad. It was definitely a favorite for both my boyfriend and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul is hungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States