Eggplant and Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
FANTASTIC. If you love lamb, please try this. It was amazing. Here are the changes I made: salted/drained the eggplant for almost an hour. Used 2 cans of diced tomatoes instead of the diced. Used red wine instead of water. Added the spices to the tomato paste mixture for easier distribution. Used a whole can of tomato paste. added a bunch of carrots...was going to add potatoes but my pot was too full! Will be making this again and again. The whole family including 2 picky toddlers ate this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Easy and delicious. I used half the meat but same amount of veggies, and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe! I added zucchini to the pot for a veggie boost and it was delicious! Even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Excellent. My husband declared this the best thing I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
My husband and NINE-year old son loved it ... but what's even better, after they picked out most of the delicious lamb, I saved and froze the rest and used it later as an amazing pasta sauce (whole-wheat gemelli). I will definitely make this again. Modifications: 28-oz. can diced tomatoes (undrained) instead of out-of season fresh; and about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Fabulous recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly except for making a substitution - my small town grocery store did not have lamb, so I opted for ground turkey. I thought this was a little bland, and will likely throw in more seasoning next time, maybe even a dash of crushed red pepper. I will also try beef or pork next time (unless lamb is available). My husband did really like it, and it's healthy with lots of veggies, so I will make it again. I served mine over brown rice since that's what I had in the cabinet, but my husband didn't think he needed it (liked it as a soup) - next time I will opt for couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Delicious!! Here are the changes I made. Instead of using whole tomatoes, I used a full can of diced tomatoes. I substituted the lamb with blade steak, and used four cloves of garlic. I skipped the tomato paste because I had none on hand. I added a sprinkle of sugar and let it simmer for 1.5 hours, covered. During the last 15 minutes, I added a tablespoon of cornstarch (mixed with some water) to the stew and took the cover off. Served over rice. A keeper and will take again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was very good! I had leftover leg of lamb that had been roasted so I pulled off the meat and added it after I browned the eggplant, onion and garlic together (in olive oil not butter). Although I use allspice in my cooking, I don't usually use so much so i put 1/2 teaspoon and said I could always add more later and it turned out to be just what we like. I also use a lot of cinnamon in savory food so I know it goes perfect with eggplant, so I added about 1/4 teaspoon and also 1/4 teaspoon garam marsala spice and it was really delicious and everyone liked it. And 10 cloves of garlic is not too much! It goes so well with the eggplant. What a perfect way to make leftover meat taste like it was made fresh. Thanks for this recipe I will use it a lot! Oh yeah, last note is that there was a small dish left after dinner and I finished it later that night, wow, it tasted even better than it did just made! I think the flavors were left to blend together, but it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
this recipe was delicious!! i also added crushed red pepper and a whole can of tomato paste. i used lamb shoulder chops which are a bit easier to find than a piece of whole lamb shoulder. i added a ton more water than the recipe called for because of the tomato paste, but it gave it a much fuller flavor. also would be great to add potatos as a option as well. All in all it was a great dish if you are looking for a good lamb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Photo by Warren Smith
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I enjoyed this lean, vegie laden stew and baked it in a clayware roaster for one and 1/2 hours. I browned the lamb first and de-boned the shoulder meat, smothered the vegies and then transfered all to the clayware at 350 degrees. It goes great over rice or bulgur rice. It's worth checking with the butcher to know when price breaks on the lamb shoulder are most likely. It fed 8 people. Hearty and colorful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States