Eggplant and Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
We really enjoyed this recipe, and will definitely be trying it again. Used a lamb shank. I wish I had taken a cue from some of the comments from other reviewers; It definitely needs a "kick". Next time I may get a larger piece of lamb, too. To the saute stage, I added some fresh, sliced okra to the other chopped veggies. I also almost doubled the garlic by using an entire head. At the end, it seemed somewhat bland so I added some hot paprika, cinnamon, and chile powder. Like some of the other reviewers, it was finished cooking much more quickly than the recipe called for...I think I may have actually overcooked the lamb a bit because it didn't shred as expected, so I had to end up taking it out and using a knife to chop it. My advice would be not to set the timer and walk away like I did - check on it every 15 mins or so to check the doneness of the meat. The next time I make it I will probably also add some chopped chile peppers and try the suggestion of adding a bit of wine and at least doubling the tomato paste. Maybe even some pomegranate molasses? My thought is that this simply needs some more flavor complexity to match my family's tastebuds. Overall, this was really easy to make, pretty healthy, and definitely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
First of all, this is an excellent recipe! Due to personal preferences, I made a few changes by substituting olive oil for the butter, used boneless leg of lamb instead of the shoulder (as it was available), used can of organic chopped tomatoes instead of the whole tomatoes, used 1/2 can of the tomato paste instead of 1 tablespoon and substituted chicken broth for the water. I took another reviewer's advice and soaked the peeled and chopped eggplant in salt water for 30 minutes before using. My husband was sceptical about this recipe at first but once he tried this delicious stew, he told me this was a 'keeper' recipe and I agree. The prep time was a little longer than noted and I cooked about 30 minutes longer than noted (personal preference). This recipe is easily doubled and it can be served as a stand-alone stew. Thank you for this great "keeper" recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is delicious and pretty easy to make. Don't tell my kids it has eggplant in it or they won't eat it anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I followed the recipe as written. It was the best thing I have had in a long time. I cant wiat to make this again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was good with a few changes. I omitted the peppers and substituted it with potatoes, red wine for the water, and added cumin, tomato sauce instead of tomato paste, a dash of hot sauce, and a touch of cinnamon. Yum! Great with saffron basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
We all loved this! I had some friends over to break fast for Ramadan and made this. I substituted a beef roast for the lamb and cooked it slow. 5 kids and 4 adults ate every bit of it...and not just b/c we were starving! The sauce is great poured over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
A very simple recipe. I made some changes in the Allrecipes tradition. I used a jar of prepared pasta sauce (instead of paste+water) and added red pepper flakes. I didn't want mushy veggies, so I simmered the lamb in the tomato sauce for 1hr then added my veggies the last 30 minutes. Very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Very good flavor combination. I was a little disappointed that the veggies were mush after cooking that long. If I make it again, I will cook the meat, garlic, onion, tomato, and seasoning for an hour, then add the peppers and eggplant so they still have shape and substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was a huge hit! Instead of bell peppers, I used bella mushrooms for a wonderful earthy flavor, used wine in place of water, and added about a 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I also used a combo of lamb shoulder and lamb stew meat. Next time, I'll use just lamb stew meat. I'll also add carrots and potatoes, and maybe slightly more spices ~ cumin, cinnamon, or coriander ~ and cook earlier in the day so that the flavors have more time to meld. This was great with a seasoned basmati rice and yogurt-cucumber (tzitziki) salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is awesome. Everytime I have made this recipe I have used leg of lamb leftovers. I put the leftovers in the fridge and then dice it right before I put it in the stew so that it's much eaiser to chop up. Today I used lamb shoulder because I couldn't wait until I made leg of lamb to fix this again and I would say that I much prefer using the leftovers from leg of lamb since this using lamb shoulder was more difficult to get all of the meat off of the bones. The only other thing I've changed this time is my husband wanted to try it without the tomato paste, but I can already tell that I'd much rather eat it as the recipe is written. Overall though, this is great. Needs no changing whatsoever..... we fight over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jelyzel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Virginia, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States