Eggplant and Ground Beef Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was edible but soooooo bland! Even my daughter who loves eggplant didn't care much for this recipe. I took the leftovers and added more spices and garlic and a bit more cheese and it was much better. Not one I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Fantastic! I added a lot more mushrooms, some tomato paste, and a full pound of ground beef because I had them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Kilanowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I also omitted the noodles, used 2 lbs of ground beef, 8 oz of mushrooms and 5 cloves of garlic. Same amount of tomato, but three cups of mozzarella, and grilled the eggplant. Added only salt and pepper, but would add oregano, or italian spice mix next time. We both loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Used turkey instead of beef, left out mushrooms,i,'m the only one that enjoys them. Everyone had seconds:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Ditch the noodles, increase the eggplant and don't bother peeling them. Use young tender eggplant and enjoy the benefits of the phenolic compounds in the peel. Lightly grill eggplant slices in a small amount of extra virgin olive oil if you want before adding. No cheddar please. Italian blend or mozzarella, provolone, and parmesan used together are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
No pasta!! The whole point of making eggplant lasagna is to eliminate the pasta. Believe me, it is delicious! I grill the 1/4" slices of eggplant before I place them in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDabis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
changes made: replaced noodles completely with eggplant. left out mushrooms (only because i let them go bad. i confess.) doubled fresh garlic. replaced ground beef with ground sausage. all VERY good. i DO recommend using the sauce as directed - it's so easy and way better than jar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
also added some cottage cheese - otherwise followed directions. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I made a few changes. I used jarred spaghetti sauce instead of canned tomatoes to get more flavor. I used the same amount of sauce as I would have used in tomatoes. It needed more sauce (as someone else also mentioned). So I had to add more. The other change I made was to use a different shredded cheese. I opted for an Italian 5 cheese blend as husband doesn't care for cheddar. It was a nice lasagna. However, the eggplant did not get cooked. (even with increasing the cooking time) I sliced it thin too. Next time I may either cube it and cook with the beef and sauce, or may pan fry it slightly before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this exactly according to directions, and it was fantastic! Thank you for such an easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States