Eggplant -- Easy, Good and Tasty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
My tips, which are a summary from different readers' ratings below (thank you readers for your tips!!): Peel eggplant before slicing, and slice to 1/4 inch. Add garlic to the egg/water mix. Add red pepper flakes & parm cheese to the breadcrumbs. Cook the eggplant for 10 minutes, flip, then top with what the recipe calls for, along with some lemon juice and fresh basil leaves. ENJOY! My husband would never eat eggplant until now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
I love eggplant, but had no recipes that weren't heavy and full of fat. As others suggested I baked the eggplant before adding the rest of the ingredients. While the it was baking I marinated slices of tomatoes in fat-free italian dressing and place them on top of each piece of eggplant along with the cheese and some fresh basil, then baked another few minutes. I left out the oil completely. What a wonderfully flavored low fat side that will go with anything. I served it with grilled salmon and fresh spinach. Will definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Outstanding recipe!!!!! I made some both with the mozzeralla and some without. My husband and I both liked the ones without the mozzarella cheese. Kept the tomatoes as slices instead of chopping; also added some garlic powder and Italian seasoning (just sprinkled on). Baked the eggplant before putting on the other toppings; also flipped them over so they would be the same texture on both sides. Used Italian breadcrumbs. Very filling recipe -- we didn't have room in our tummies for the main course after eating these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I made this last night and it was awesome the only change i made was i cooked the eggplant on bothsides on the cookie sheet then removed it from oven drained any oil with paper towels then put the eggplant in acasserole dish topped with sloced tomatoes the dressing and cheese but after baking for 15 min i topped it with shredded mozzarella and broiled it.We had it as our main course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
My husband did the grocery shopping this week, and he came home with an eggplant...?!! I was up to the challenge (never cooked one before), and allrecipes didn't fail me. This was delicious! I used Pam and aluminum foil instead of the olive oil. Also, I baked them on each side about 7 minutes before adding the tomatoes, etc. Some slices were 1/4 inch and some were 1/2 inch -- we prefered the thicker ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
excellent! quick and easy, though I made some adjustments. I used less cheese and added some mozzarella. I also mixed the tomatoes with the dressing, zested it up with some garlic powder and italian seasoning. Used the mixture to spread over the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
fantastic. easy, qucik & good. make sure to cut the eggplant at least 1/'4".would suggest it to anyone who likes eggplant! thanks for posting. for the people that like a hit of spice i mixed crushed red pepper into the crumb mix along with other spices to give the breading its own flavor. i also decided to put a thick slice of tomatoe on top of each cut eggplant and put a fresh basil leaf (1-2 depending on size of eggplant slice) and topped with parm, accompaning a light summer cream sauce pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I thought this was delicious. I've never made eggplant before and for some reason thought it was so hard. I used canned petite diced tomatoes instead of sliced and I mixed them with half a jar of marinated artichoke hearts chopped very small. I baked for 7 minutes, flipped them and added the toppings and baked for another 9 minutes. My husband loved them and I'll for sure be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I loved this recipe as did everybody else. My husband said it was just about the best eggplant he had ever tasted! A friend fixed eggplant in a similar manner one time and I've wanted to find a recipe similar to it since then. Like another person who reviewed this recipe I baked the eggplant first and then put the tomatoes on top finishing with the cheese. Instead of plain bread crumbs I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs. This is a wonderful recipe and I would recommend it for anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
My husband and I love this recipe. I like the fact that you don't have to fry the eggplant. My only suggestion is to flip the slices over half way thru baking so they are golden brown on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States