Eggplant -- Easy, Good and Tasty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I liked the idea of baking the eggplant but found I prefer to fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
These were very tasty. I took the advice of other people and put them in the oven for ten minutes, flipped them, and then added the topping. I also mixed the tomatos and dressing before adding it to the eggplant. I think that with a longer cooking time they would be even better- I like it when the eggplant is super soft. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This ended up tasting delicious! I took note of the other reveiws on cooking the eggplant longer. I did 11 minutes on one side, flipped them over, put on the topping and cooked another 11 minutes. I broiled for seven minutes to get the tomatoes and cheese a little browned. To compensate for the dryness mentioned in other reviews I added a tsp of olive oil to the egg mixture and used really ripe halved cherry tomatoes. Instead of Italian I used Amy's Goddess Dressing. I also had a zucchini lying around and used it too. I liked the zucchini even better than the eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
My husband I both agreed that it would have been bland if we didn't add Zesty Italian Dressing, which gives this dish its flavor. I cooked 8 minutes and flipped the breaded eggplant and then added all the toppings before finishing with another 8 minutes followed by a 4-minute broil. I used two eggs and the whole eggplant and I still felt it wasn’t enough to cover the eggplant thoroughly. Leftovers were great in the microwave, took 2-3 minutes covered and I thought it tasted better because the eggplant was more cooked (not tough). Peeled or unpeeled, didn’t make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was SO good! I loaded up the breadcrumbs with seasoning - garlic & herb Mrs. Dash, pepper flakes & pepper and I used low fat ranch dressing - I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Wonderful! I didn't take the skin off the eggplant and it was just as tasty. I cooked it a bit longer and it was delicious! Instead of fresh tomatos I used a can of Rotel and it was very good and gave it a spicy kick! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This was easy and my family loved it, even the kids. I soaked the eggplant slices in salt water prior to breading. I used milk instead of egg, and dried Italian herbs instead of the salad dressing. BAKE LONGER for BEST RESULTS. I would reccommend serving this with something a little more saucy. I made pasta and Alfredo sauce and put the eggplant on top. It is very dry and needs another dish to compliment it. Definitely, worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
The flavor in this dish was so-so. I wish I would of read the reviews before I made this dish and cooked LONGER. I followed the recipe exactly and the eggplant slices were too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
i have been looking for new things to do with eggplant this time of year. the italian dressing definitely was a change in flavor from the usual. i used a whole eggplant and upped the amount of parmesan...but otherwise pretty much stuck to the recipe as written. i liked it a lot, but my husband wasn't wowwed. it is definitely easy enough to make, and i will probably make again. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Awesome!! I used ranch dressing as did others and everyone loved it! Even my 14 year-old son who said "you can't make me eat that", loved it. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States