Eggplant -- Easy, Good and Tasty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
My tips, which are a summary from different readers' ratings below (thank you readers for your tips!!): Peel eggplant before slicing, and slice to 1/4 inch. Add garlic to the egg/water mix. Add red pepper flakes & parm cheese to the breadcrumbs. Cook the eggplant for 10 minutes, flip, then top with what the recipe calls for, along with some lemon juice and fresh basil leaves. ENJOY! My husband would never eat eggplant until now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I changed the recipe a little. I added garlic oil to the egg mixture and added parmesean cheese to the bread crumb mixture. I also used italian breadcrumbs and left the tomatoes in slices rather than diced. I placed a basil leaf on top of the tomato. Overall the eggplant was delicious, but remember to eat them right away, as they will get soggy in about 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sasigrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
this was a nice change from the original bruschetta. i made a few changes. i peeled and seeded the tomatoes (i used ugly/heirloom, not plum). i added pressed garlic, the juice of half a lemon, and salt, and pepper to the tomatoes. i let them sit as long as possible to let the flavors meld. i did not use italian dressing at all. i floured the eggpant before egging. i added parm cheese and italian seasonings to the breadcrumb mixture. i baked the eggplant first before topping with tomatoes and then baked again. i topped it with fresh basil and parm cheese. finally, i made a balsamic glaze by adding equal amounts of sugar and balsamic vinegar to a pot on the stovetop, heating until the sugar is disoved, then putting in the freezer until cool. for a less sweet glaze, use half the sugar. i am still playing with the oven temp and time, but i have enjoyed this veyr much, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I thought this was very good. I added some spices (garlic salt, pepper, oreagano, basil) to the bread crumbs to make it tastier. Everyone loved it even my 4 year old. I thought it was a little bland. I also cooked it a little longer and turned them halfway before adding the tomatoes etc. as others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
be extra super careful- these burn quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is the ONLY eggplant DH likes. He calls them Eggplant Pizzas. I peel my eggplant FIRST to make it simpler, rather than after like the recipe calls for, and cut the slices a little thinner than 1/4 inch. It makes the slices extra crispy. I've even made them like this and then layered them in a pan with tomato sauce and mozzarella and made it like eggplant parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burrito Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I adore eggplant and this is a good recipe to add to my box....Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Yum! I had to make two batches the first day because they were so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
delicious flavor-I added garlic. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States