Eggplant -- Easy, Good and Tasty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I cooked it as directed, except I used Progresso italian bread crumbs. I still found this to be a little boring.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Sills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I picked a fresh organic eggplant and tomatoes from my garden. My hubby refused to eat it (meat and tatters man) but i convinced him to just try one bite and he really liked it. I didn't have any bread to make crumbs so I used wheat crackers and it was fine. I left the skin on because when I was in Italy this summer that's the way they served their eggplant. I went with someone's suggestion of putting garlic in the egg and parmesan cheese in the crumbs. I will make this again. Thank you Lotting123 for the recipe and Wanda for the lovely picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I thought it was tasty not my favorite though. But I served as one of the appetizers for an italian dinner party and everyone raved and loved them. I used italian breadcrumbs and added fresh basil and thyme from my garden. Needed to be cooked 10min longer than recipe called for. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
DELICIOUS! Used one small eggplant and Olive Oil cooking spray instead of oil. Baked on one side 10 minutes and then turned and sprinkled with garlic powder and drizzled with Italian dressing. Baked 10 minutes, then topped with cheese and tomatoes. Next broiled for about 2 minutes. Parmesan cheese got a little hard. Will try again with Mozarella. Yummy either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Excellent! I did sweat my eggplant for about a half an hour because I was worried they would be soggy. Two very minor tweaks... I used seasoned breadcrumbs and shredded parmesan instead of grated. Great flavor, crunchy coating. Yum! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was very tasty. I used Balsamic Italian Dressing and it worked very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I love eggplant, and I was looking for a really good recipe that would highlight the taste while not covering it. Unfortunately this recipe, while it sounded promising, did not really deliver that for me. I thought it tasted like "eggplant paremesan light" which is probably great for some people, but just not my taste. The good thing was that my husband, who really dislikes eggplant was able to eat this and enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Very good and low calorie too! Followed the reviews to add garlic to the egg mixture and cook the eggplant without the topping for ten minutes. After flipping them, I added the topping and cooked for another 5 minutes then broiled for 4 minutes to melt the Parm cheese. Also used cooking spray on the pan instead of oil and used italian bread crumbs for the eggplant. The only other change I made was marinating the tomatoes in the Italian dressing while the eggplant roasted and adding some chopped fresh basil to compliment the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Oh, wow! Followed the reviews about adding spices and flipping them. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsteph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This is a 5 Star Recipe!!! So easy to make and SO DELICIOUS!!!! I used Italian breadcrumbs and a can of tomatoes. Came out PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States