Eggplant -- Easy, Good and Tasty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was so good and my first time cooking with eggplant. The only changes I made were to slice the tomato instead of chopping, and, as per other reviewers, I baked 10 mins on one side, flipped and baked for 10 mins more. I added tomato (which had soaked in italian dresing for 10 mins) to the top of each slice on the second flip. Sprinkled that with parmesan cheese and a little chopped fresh basil. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I've made this a few times now, it's a great thing for the kids to help with. I topped mine with pesto as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simply.tracyscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mockingbird2081
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was very enjoyable with just (for me) the right hint of flavor. The only thing that would have been over the top for me was if the eggplant came out crispy. I will have to see if I can make that happen. Will make again...and again..and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mockingbird2081
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I planted eggplant in the garden this year, not even quite certain whether I liked the vegetable to begin with. This was the first recipe I tried. I used one young eggplant instead of part of a large eggplant. I did add a few sprinkles of mozzarella in addition to the listed ingredients. The results were absolutely delicious: I ate the entire eggplant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
wonderful. I used the long thin eggplant (fresh from friends garden) and fresh small tomatoes. Also only had Italian seasoned bread crumbs. They were finger food I would not hesitate to take to a party. I would not make these with store bought tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I love this recipe!! We just added some salt and pepper to the topping! EASY!! I even got my 4 year old to help (The eggplant's skin that you trim away makes a great bracelet). The thinner the slices the crispier the pieces. Serve hot because once these cool down, they are still good but not AMAZING good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Amazing! I chopped the tomatoes and added some dried basil (I would have used fresh if I had had it, but , no...) and otherwise followed the directions. Huge hit at home! Can't wait to try this one w/ friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Not all that exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I was surprised at how delicious these actually were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I'm giving it 5 stars because I made some changes and would give it 4 - but I made changes so that isn't fair. Anyway - I didn't have any tomatoes in the house - so instead I used an oregano, basil canned diced tomatoes mix. I skipped the dressing. I skinned the eggplant first, then sliced into 1/4" pieces. I did the egg/water and then italian seasoned bread crumbs. I baked for about 8 minutes per side. (i did flip them) - then after 8 minutes on side 2 I topped with canned tomatoes and shredded parm. It was good - but a little boring so I added some crushed red pepper flakes to ours. Couple of things I want to do for next time....maybe try mozzerella. Maybe try some extra spices. Slice the pieces a little thinner - and if making as an app - try to find a thin long eggplant. Although - I liked the larger rounds because folding it around the tomatoes was really yummy. Maybe I just needed more tomatoes - which leads me to the fact that next time...I want to do the tomato slice as others mentioned. That sounds good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States