Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Delicious, easy eggnog recipe that uses the entire egg. A little more booze doesn't hurt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is much easier than others I tried and much lighter, but tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
A Suggested Alternative: In a saucepan, whisk together the milk, egg yolks, and vanilla then place on the cook top. Sprinkle a spoonful of the sugar over the surface of the mixture. This will sink to the bottom and help prevent the mixture from browning or catching on the bottom of the pan while it is heating without stirring. Heat to a high simmer and bubbles start to form. This should bring the mixture above 70 degrees C Remove from heat immediately and stir in the cream. While the milk mixture is heating, whip the egg whites and fold in the nutmeg and remaining sugar. While the milk and cream mixture is still hot, stir it into the egg whites. Pour the required quantity for non- alcoholic consumption into a separate container. When cool, add the alcohol of your choice to the remainder and stir to combine. Depending on the quantities of alcoholic and non-alcoholic, you may want to reduce the amount of alcohol used, I do suggest a tasting as you add – but in moderation! Note: With the ingredient quantities given for this recipe, the eggnog, without the alcohol, may be too thick and can be thinned before serving with milk, water or if served in a large punch bowl, Ice cubes can be put in an hour before serving (so they have pretty much melted before the eggnog is consumed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I found this recipe to be pretty fabulous :) We did have to let it set overnight to really get those flavors flowing. I also garnished with cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixpackjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I love it! Add some cinnamon and a pinch of cardamom and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Really just tasted like whiskey and milk. Not terrible, but no real Eggnog flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I didn't add whiskey, used Meyers Dark Rum instead. Flavor is not bad, just not hardley there. It just tastes like melted vanilla pudding. There are other, better recipes for eggnog here on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I halved the recipe & it still made a lot just for our family. (I wasn't making it for a party or anything.) I left out the liquor as some other reviewers had done w/ no problem? My family said it was too thick & not sweet enough. I added more milk to try to thin it out & more sugar try to sweeten it up. My husband's drinking it, but I won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillypurrs23
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
It tasted awesome! We all loved it! =) We left out the whiskey though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was fast even with my adjustments it only took 10 minutes! I have young kids so I changed the directions just a little....I cooked the milk, eggs, and vanilla until boiling and then removed from heat immediately and added the cream. Next, I whipped up the egg whites and folded in the sugar and nutmeg. I added the milk mixture to the egg whites and slowly stirred. I omitted the whiskey and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States