Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The frosting on these was delicious, but I had the same problems some others did: the cookies were very hard. Not pleasantly crispy -- hard. I left them in for 12 minutes, and they certainly looked fine, just slightly golden. I did allow them to cool completely on the cookie sheets (I was doing too much holiday-baking multitasking), which I'm sure didn't help, but there are enough more foolproof sugar cookie recipes in the world that in the future I'll use one of them with this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Absolutely amazing cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria
Photo by katj012
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This cookie was DELICIOUS - we made it for our annual cookie bake this year, and this is definitely going to become a staple. EVERYONE in our family loved these cookies. We used a pastry bag for the filling and it worked wonderfully and made the cookies look even more beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
awesome awesome awesome. My family couldn't get enough of these. I used a pastry bag with a large plain tip. It made the frosting application super slick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
The cookie itself is good, but the filling doesn't taste like eggnog at all. If I ever make them again, I'll definitely try using a different type of rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Checotah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This recipe came out fairly delicious, but I feel like it could be improved... the cookies were too sweet and rose too much for the thumbprint to allow these cookies to be filled (i basically frosted them). I feel like a more short-bread like traditional thumbread cookie might've been better. I LOVED the filling though, mmmm, and overall these cookies were delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Filippone
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
My boyfriend went crazy over these! I made a batch to bring to work, and there were still a bunch left over... he hoarded the rest and refused to let them out of his sight until he ate them all! =oP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caitlin
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I am a huge egg nog fan and i just didnt taste the egg nog in these cookies. mine didn't turn out puffy like the pictures that have been put up-even though i followed the directions exactly. seriously i really did. the cookies were pretty. the icing had a nice pearly shine and a good consistency but it just tasted too buttery to me-and ive never had that complaint before, i feel like there needs to be a little more mixing of flavors other than just the nutmeg and rum. *also i used real rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have been searching for the perfect egg nog cookie recipe for 6 years... and I this is by far my favorite. I have made 2 batches. The dough comes out beautifully. I think next time I make it I will use rum flavoring instead of the vanilla flavoring in the cookie. I did mix the flour in with my KitchenAid on Stir, and baked on parchment paper, and they baked beautifully. I did modify the filling recipe a little. I used 2 tsp. rum flavoring, 2 tsp milk, and 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg, (probably an extra tsp of powdered sugar as well). It makes this frosting taste just like egg nog. So delish! This recipe has won a place in my annual holiday "must have" cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I'm glad I finally made these. I had trouble with my cookies spreading so I made them into 1tsp "bites" instead. I added nutmeg to the dough, and a little extra to the icing. To keep the icing from dripping off the top of the cookie, I made it thicker, and dipped chilled cookies into it. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States