Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I really enjoyed these cookies. The cookie itself was very tender and crumbly, which I enjoyed. Make sure to mix in the flour by hand. The dough should be rather dry and crumbly. If you have one solid ball of dough, your cookies are over-mixed. I used a melon baller to get the correct size and made the indentation with a wooden spoon handle. If the cookie starts to come apart, press it gently back together. The only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars was because I feel it needs a stronger rum flavor. Next time I will use rum extract because I can increase the flavor without significantly increasing the liquid. The icing, mixed by hand and stuffed in a piping bag, was the perfect consistency, nowhere near runny. Runny icing is an error on the part of the cook, not the recipe. I can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I'm not sure why my cookies came out too sweet and too hard and I don't think they taste much like egg nog. The only difference I made in the recipe is that I didn't have nutmeg, so I substituted pumpkin pie spice. I can't think what I would do differently to improve this recipe. I would never make it again. Difficult to store, too, with the frosting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
super easy and super delish! the only mistake I made was putting the frosting on too soon on the 1st batch! After I realized my mistake I quickly refrigerated them and they were fine! Will make them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I must have made mine too big as I only got 2 dozen out of this batch. I uses my Pampered Chef scoop which is not as messy as rolling them by hand and it guarantees the same size cookie every time. I put Jamaican spiced rum in the frosting and they are very tasty. I will definately be making more because I'm sure these will be gone before Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I LOVE these cookies! They're delicious and cute :) they went really nice with the other cookies to add variety for my holiday mix. I only made one small change (as many others had) I used 1tsp rum extract and 2tsp water in the filling. I'll make these again, maybe even tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
The perfect Christmas Cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
God flavor but I must have done something wrong. Mine came out flat, not with a dent in the middle. Even tried chilling the dough. More flour? Use shortening instead of butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
These cookies are DELICIOUS and easy to make! I made only a 1/2 batch to try them out, and will definitely be adding this to my Christmas baking list. The cookie all by itself is a great texture and taste, I will use this cookie as a base for future thumbprint recipes. I did add a little bit more rum than the recipe called for and sprinkled a fair amount of nutmeg over the finished cookie (I'm sure it would be considered more than a 'pinch') and it was fantastic. The extra rum isn't necessary, but I wanted a strong rum flavor. YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HumphreysHandmade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Wow! I just tried one of these and they are amazing! I used a full teaspoon of vanilla but followed as directed otherwise. Used the end of a wooden spoon to make indentation and baked on parchment paper. The icing is lip smacking good! I used Captain Morgan which is a spiced rum and I think it worked very well here. Very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I colored the filling with yellow food coloring and sprinkled with white snowflake sprinkles. I also added extra rum extract for some added kick. A great addition to my Holiday cookies. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States