Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I was very disappointed in these. Not much flavor even though I added a bit more rum than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a great recipe as is. :) Buuuuut ;) if you are a big eggnog fan I have one suggestion, make the frosting with eggnog liqueur. Yum! Both are great. Love this recipe, will definitely make these again! Maybe with yet another liqueur in the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
These really do taste like egg nog. Easy to make, and I followed the recipe exactly. I used a decorator tube to apply the topping to the completely cooled cookies. The topping really does make the cookie great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is the second year I have made these for my Christmas trays and we love them. The food editor at the Las Vegas Journal requested a special Christmas cookie to feature and this one immediately came to mind. I will be delivering them to the newspaper tomorrow ad I think they will agree with our review :) After reading some poor reviews, I have some thoughts on what might have gone wrong. Burnt bottoms....oven is running too hot. My oven runs hot so I adjust my temp down. Hard or tough cookie....Over worked dough. You are supposed to cream the butter and sugar and then stir the flour in by hand. Overmixing would produce a very tough cookie. Dry....baked too long. My cookies were done at 11 minutes. Runny frosting....too much rum or not enough sugar or maybe melted butter? With these simple tips, you will experience success. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. I have never had a recipe that is so universally loved and one that I am constantly asked to share. I do find the dough the most temperamental- Don't melt the butter, just soften it (and add a little nutmeg to it.) I also often substitute more rum in the dough instead of vanilla. I use spiced rum in mine which turns out great (and I don't worry too much about adding more!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Best cookies ever. Made as written with 151 Bacardi Rum. Amazing. I had no problem with the frosting being runny. If anything, it was too thick and I live in a humid place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I have made these several times now. It is my families most requested cookie no matter what time of year it is. They are simple to make and taste incredible. I don't find the cookies bland as other reviewers have reported. In fact, it's all I can do to keep my hubby away from them before the frosting is ready. We are very happy with these cookies. Any time we have a party, or cookie exchange these are what I make, & they are always a BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adorabrooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These will be the traditional Christmas cookie for many, many, many holidays to come :] I would have never guessed that a hint of rum added to some butter and confectioners' sugar could be so delicious and taste so much like egg nog! This is one fantastic cookie :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDue142ndYear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
OMG I had to make these twice in 2 days because they were such a hit. I used overproof Jamaican rum (blame the padres for that one) I dunno if I made them too big, but the batches only made about 24 cookies, which were gone in my family by the end of the night. Either way, was told that I should sell the recipe to a Jamaican restaurant. I wont steal your amazing idea though seriously Im making these every year for Christmas, or like an event where i can make them! Best recipe Ive found on here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberkirky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I really enjoyed these cookies. The cookie itself was very tender and crumbly, which I enjoyed. Make sure to mix in the flour by hand. The dough should be rather dry and crumbly. If you have one solid ball of dough, your cookies are over-mixed. I used a melon baller to get the correct size and made the indentation with a wooden spoon handle. If the cookie starts to come apart, press it gently back together. The only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars was because I feel it needs a stronger rum flavor. Next time I will use rum extract because I can increase the flavor without significantly increasing the liquid. The icing, mixed by hand and stuffed in a piping bag, was the perfect consistency, nowhere near runny. Runny icing is an error on the part of the cook, not the recipe. I can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States