Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Made just as recipe is given. Frosting has nice rum flavor, very smooth. Nutmeg gives it the perfect spice punch. Cookie is beyond sweet. Like, beyond. Thank you for the recipe, it was easy to make, I just wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
So far these are really average cookies. I'm not a huge fan of icing so that's probably why I'm not crazy about them. They are kind of weird in that it is really difficult to tell when they are done baking. They don't really brown on the edges or anything. I'm curious to see if they taste different after a few days of settling with the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I thought this was a very nice looking and tasting cookie. I have added it to my Chirstmas collection. I got 50 cookies. I would double the frosting and then pipe it in the thumbprint. Other than that I followed the recipe to a T. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Rave reviews from all who tasted these gems. I used super fine baker's sugar for the dough and they were delicate and yummy. I will be making these every holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOVIN2COOK
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
My family loved these ! They don't taste exactly like eggnog but they do have that spicy flavor. I only made a couple adjustments. As others suggested I used real rum and substituted it for the vanilla in the cookie. Some said these were not an attractive cookie so i tired them in colored sugar before I placed on parchment paper. I also pushed my finger nearly to the cookie sheet then placed them in the fridge for about 10 min. Baked them for ten min and they're beautiful! I made them once last week and added food coloring to the frosting. Also beautiful. Mine yeild 30 cookies for one batch both times I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Rochester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
These were very easy to make. I added more nutmeg and they really tasted just like eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
WOW! What a great cookie!!! I've been wanting to make these for a long time, but some of the negative reviews have scared me away. A former co-worker of mine bakes hundreds of holiday cookies every year and posts her creations on FB. I was pleasantly surprised to see that she made this EXACT eggnog thumbprint recipe and knew right away that I'd have to give it a try! If you follow SHOLLISMD's directions closely, these turn out perfectly. Using my small PC scoop, I was able to make just shy of 4 dozen bite-sized cookies. My pastry tool kit made piping the rum filling SO easy! Depending on your oven, these might take the full 11 minutes to bake (or longer), but mine were spot on at the 10 minute mark.... If you're looking for a unique cookie to celebrate the season, look no farther.... These are superb! Happy baking everyone!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These are wonderful with great flavor and just the right level of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Yummy! Added eggnog extract to both the cookie and the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Big hit at our house! I doubt these will last 1 day the way my boys are gobbling them up! Btw, this recipe only made 29 cookies for me, but I don't think I could've made them much smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States