Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Caitlin
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I am a huge egg nog fan and i just didnt taste the egg nog in these cookies. mine didn't turn out puffy like the pictures that have been put up-even though i followed the directions exactly. seriously i really did. the cookies were pretty. the icing had a nice pearly shine and a good consistency but it just tasted too buttery to me-and ive never had that complaint before, i feel like there needs to be a little more mixing of flavors other than just the nutmeg and rum. *also i used real rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have been searching for the perfect egg nog cookie recipe for 6 years... and I this is by far my favorite. I have made 2 batches. The dough comes out beautifully. I think next time I make it I will use rum flavoring instead of the vanilla flavoring in the cookie. I did mix the flour in with my KitchenAid on Stir, and baked on parchment paper, and they baked beautifully. I did modify the filling recipe a little. I used 2 tsp. rum flavoring, 2 tsp milk, and 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg, (probably an extra tsp of powdered sugar as well). It makes this frosting taste just like egg nog. So delish! This recipe has won a place in my annual holiday "must have" cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I'm glad I finally made these. I had trouble with my cookies spreading so I made them into 1tsp "bites" instead. I added nutmeg to the dough, and a little extra to the icing. To keep the icing from dripping off the top of the cookie, I made it thicker, and dipped chilled cookies into it. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Very very good, the cookie was very crunchy but the frosting was good. I hope they freeze well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickens
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Really good. They have a nice soft texture, the cookie itself doesn't have much flavor so the frosting is key. They spread more than i expected, next time i'll chill the dough before baking, and maybe add some nutmeg to dough for a little extra flavor. **UPDATE** For people having trouble w/ the cookie flattening: the second time i made these i added 1/4Cup extra flour, and put the baking sheet in the fridge after rolling and pressing the thumbprint. Handling the dough may melt your butter, and melted butter = flat cookie. Extra flour and chilling is key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
These cookies were easy to make. They tasted and looked as good as the picture. My family and friends finished the batch in 1 day. I have learned that I need to make multiple batches at a time. Thanks for such an original recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Strayer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Tasted great, but kind of fell apart on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Some of the best sugar cookies I've ever made. I have had many requests for this recipe. They turn out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I made a couple of alterations to this recipe. I added about 3/4 t. nutmeg to the dough which made a nice buttery cookie with an eggnog kick. I didn't care for the icing but I also didn't have rum or extract. I think that the dough with the nutmeg and a simple water, powdered sugar icing would be great. I'll be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was a good cookie recipe. Making it though I did make some changes I felt the cookie needed. Since the dough did not have any eggnog ingredients and just the frosting, I added nutmeg to the cookie and next time would probably add rum extract as well. I think those changes would make this a great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States