Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
These cookies were a big hit with my family! They had wished I'd made more. I found this to be a very easy recipe and had no problems whatsoever. My 3 year old daughter loved making the thumbprints in the cookies! The only thing that I found to be an important key was to make sure they set up before eating them, they taste MUCH better that way. I noticed someone mentioned something about having trouble rolling the dough...did I miss that part? lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This is an excellent cookie. It was this year's favorite among everyone. The filling really does taste like eggnog with the rum and the nutmeg. Noone thought the rum was overpowering. The cookies were very pretty to boot. Try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I was so excited to make these after all of the good reviews you had listed. I will not make these again, the cookie was dry, too sweet, and they looked so plain. The cookie dough did not roll very well, it fell apart. They were left standing alone on the plate after serving them at two different Christmas parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Very good cookie!! It's true - it's not very colorful, but the taste was wonderful! If you're having trouble spooning the filling into the cookie, use a decorating tube, or a plastic sandwich bag with a courner snipped out. I had no trouble with the spoon - and no trouble getting my co-workers to eat them, too! Lots of compliments! I'm a bit confused that a previous reveiwer had runny filling...with the given ingredients in the correct amounts, it shouldn't have happened. I'm curious as to what they did to make it "runny"! One thing I was particularly impressed with...whenever a cookie recipe calls for filling such as this, there ends up being either way to much filling, or not enough. This turned out to have EXACTLY the amount needed - no more, no less! How cool is that? :) These would also be excellent to package up and send through the mail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
Simple and yummy! I made these for a cookie exchange and they were a hit with both friends and family. Even the kids can help (with the thumb print part). I've found a new Christmas cookie tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
My husband and I love eggnog, but neither of us were impressed with these cookies. The cookie part was a little too dense and firm for my taste, probably because of the lack of baking soda or powder in the recipe. I prefer a soft cookie. The frosting part is good, but doesn't make a very good presentation if just spooned into the cookie, as suggested. I took these to a Christmas Party on a tray with other homemade cookies, and these were the only ones still left over at the end. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
These cookies are delightful! They are a cinch to make and the taste awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I made these for the first time, and I am getting rave reviews! I wouldn't add any more rum than it calls for though, I added a little more and my co-workers LOVE it but say you can deifinatly tell it's in there....I will make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I don't know about these cookies. We made them and no one who tasted them liked them. They definetly don't taste like eggnog. The frosting is very odd too, it's very runny. When I think about it, though, it makes sense; raw butter, sugar and very little rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Easy, delicious cookies. Pretty presentation and most importantly, very sweet... satisfies even the sweetest sweet tooth. We loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States