Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I liked this recipe; it's a creative holiday recipe. The rum extract is KEY to getting the eggnog flavor, so if you leave it out or skimp on it, it probably won't taste like eggnog. I did find that it was a bit on the dry side, and next time I might add a little extra vanilla and sugar.. it was very good, but it could use a little extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Yes, it tastes like eggnog, so if you like eggnog you will probably like this bread. I made three smaller loaves and found them to be on the small side, so next time I would make only two small loaves. I didn't find it to be at all dry, as some others have remarked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Really fun, easy, yummy bread! Thanks! Im making some for gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Just OK. Would not make again. Mine was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I decided to try this recipe because I LOVE eggnogg. It was a hit with the whole family this past Christmas, and everyone wanted the recipe. I added some canola oil and extra nutmeg and it was wonderful. I agree that fresh eggnogg is really key, also. It made the kitchen smell heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Quite good! Didn't have any rum or extract, but still liked the flavor. Made one following the recipe (sans rum) and was good, but a little crusty. Made a second load adding a banana and va va voom. Much softer and moister. Either way, try the bread with some ice cream and whipped cream; delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Tastes like a pound cake. The recipe sounds interesting, but it's not. You can't taste the eggnog. B-O-R-I-N-G!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Yummy! It smells great too. I didn't have any rum extract and it was still good. Next time I'd use a pinch more nutmeg. I didn't put in a full cup of sugar and I used only 2 cups of flour (one cup white, one cup whole wheat). I also put in an extra 1/4 cup of eggnog after reading the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This bread smelled wonderful while baking. While it was good right out of the oven it didn't have alot of eggnog flavor. The next day after sitting in the fridge, the flavor was more intense and even better. I will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This was a great recipe! I made it into muffins for a Christmas brunch, and everyone loved it. I only used 2 cups of flour, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States