Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Loved this bread. I made a powdered sugar w/eggnog drizzle for the top sprinkled with a little nutmeg. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a good not-too-sweet bread. I used premium eggnog made by a local dairy and spiced rum instead of extract. I always add more vanilla and use soft-wheat flour (makes for more tender baked goods, and I upped the nutmeg a bit (using fresh nutmeg is key, also) I tried a slice after cooling (haven't stored overnight yet), and the bread is finely-textured almost a cross between quick bread and pound cake and is not dry at all. The flavor is very nice, and I'll make again. UPDATE: I have made this recipe 3 times now with the adjustments from my original review. Each time it's turned out a tender, finely-textured loaf that's not dry. But I passed the recipe on to my mom, and hers turned out very dry. My advice: have your butter extremely soft but not completely melted and use soft-wheat (or pastry) flour. Remove the bread from the oven just before you think it's done (the top should still be just the slightest bit soft in the center). I also bake mine between 325 and 350 so the crust doesn't overbrown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Wow, this is wonderful. My whole family loved it. The only thing I did different was add a cinnamon and sugar coating in the pan before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coldspring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
After reading both recipes and reviews for Eggnog Quick Bread, I combined reviewers suggestions. I added: 1 package (1 oz size) Vanilla instant puddding, 5 Tbsp oil (instead of using the melted butter), 1 tsp nutmeg, just 2 Cups flour, 1 1/3 Cups eggnog, 2 Tbsp Rum and 2 tsp Vanilla. The batter is very thick and I made muffins instead of loaves yesterday.They are delicious, moist and tastes just like eggnog but isn't overpowering. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
very yummy..i added the 5T of oil so it wouldnt be too dry, next time i think i will decrease the eggnog just a bit..but thats my own personal preference....very yummy though!! will make again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Can be a bit dry if you over cook. Made into mini-loaves. Made a trifle out of it with strawberries and white chocolate pudding. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKGRRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I made this 5 days ago & just tried it! Is great!! I made 6 small loves to give away..i used captain Morgan spiced rum instead of rum extract.Also added the 6 tablespoons of oil too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
At first it sounded original, but after I took it out of the oven, it didn't rise like most breads would. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Very good! Great to serve alongside pumpkin bread for a holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Scott Andrews

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very good---I added bananas to this because I needed to use them up. What a great idea to use eggnog instead of milk! I made mini-loaves and sprinkled them with Christmas-colored sugar for my cookie tray. I also used real rum as I did not have any rum extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States