Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Especially after it sits overnight, this bread has great flavor. With guidance from previous users (gotta love allrecipes's devoted reviewers!) and my own intuition, I made the following changes: 1/2 c. of butter plus 5 T of oil 1 T of rum instead of 2 tsp. rum extract 2 tsp. vanilla extract instead of 1 extra nutmeg This bread is less moist than some kinds but is plenty moist with the changes I made. The crust is also deliciously crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I made this after Christmas to use up the rest of the eggnog. Very nice unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I liked this recipe; it's a creative holiday recipe. The rum extract is KEY to getting the eggnog flavor, so if you leave it out or skimp on it, it probably won't taste like eggnog. I did find that it was a bit on the dry side, and next time I might add a little extra vanilla and sugar.. it was very good, but it could use a little extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Yes, it tastes like eggnog, so if you like eggnog you will probably like this bread. I made three smaller loaves and found them to be on the small side, so next time I would make only two small loaves. I didn't find it to be at all dry, as some others have remarked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Really fun, easy, yummy bread! Thanks! Im making some for gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Just OK. Would not make again. Mine was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I decided to try this recipe because I LOVE eggnogg. It was a hit with the whole family this past Christmas, and everyone wanted the recipe. I added some canola oil and extra nutmeg and it was wonderful. I agree that fresh eggnogg is really key, also. It made the kitchen smell heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Quite good! Didn't have any rum or extract, but still liked the flavor. Made one following the recipe (sans rum) and was good, but a little crusty. Made a second load adding a banana and va va voom. Much softer and moister. Either way, try the bread with some ice cream and whipped cream; delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Tastes like a pound cake. The recipe sounds interesting, but it's not. You can't taste the eggnog. B-O-R-I-N-G!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Yummy! It smells great too. I didn't have any rum extract and it was still good. Next time I'd use a pinch more nutmeg. I didn't put in a full cup of sugar and I used only 2 cups of flour (one cup white, one cup whole wheat). I also put in an extra 1/4 cup of eggnog after reading the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States