Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Especially after it sits overnight, this bread has great flavor. With guidance from previous users (gotta love allrecipes's devoted reviewers!) and my own intuition, I made the following changes: 1/2 c. of butter plus 5 T of oil 1 T of rum instead of 2 tsp. rum extract 2 tsp. vanilla extract instead of 1 extra nutmeg This bread is less moist than some kinds but is plenty moist with the changes I made. The crust is also deliciously crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I made this after Christmas to use up the rest of the eggnog. Very nice unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I liked this recipe; it's a creative holiday recipe. The rum extract is KEY to getting the eggnog flavor, so if you leave it out or skimp on it, it probably won't taste like eggnog. I did find that it was a bit on the dry side, and next time I might add a little extra vanilla and sugar.. it was very good, but it could use a little extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Yes, it tastes like eggnog, so if you like eggnog you will probably like this bread. I made three smaller loaves and found them to be on the small side, so next time I would make only two small loaves. I didn't find it to be at all dry, as some others have remarked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Really fun, easy, yummy bread! Thanks! Im making some for gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Just OK. Would not make again. Mine was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I decided to try this recipe because I LOVE eggnogg. It was a hit with the whole family this past Christmas, and everyone wanted the recipe. I added some canola oil and extra nutmeg and it was wonderful. I agree that fresh eggnogg is really key, also. It made the kitchen smell heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Quite good! Didn't have any rum or extract, but still liked the flavor. Made one following the recipe (sans rum) and was good, but a little crusty. Made a second load adding a banana and va va voom. Much softer and moister. Either way, try the bread with some ice cream and whipped cream; delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Tastes like a pound cake. The recipe sounds interesting, but it's not. You can't taste the eggnog. B-O-R-I-N-G!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Yummy! It smells great too. I didn't have any rum extract and it was still good. Next time I'd use a pinch more nutmeg. I didn't put in a full cup of sugar and I used only 2 cups of flour (one cup white, one cup whole wheat). I also put in an extra 1/4 cup of eggnog after reading the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States