Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a good not-too-sweet bread. I used premium eggnog made by a local dairy and spiced rum instead of extract. I always add more vanilla and use soft-wheat flour (makes for more tender baked goods, and I upped the nutmeg a bit (using fresh nutmeg is key, also) I tried a slice after cooling (haven't stored overnight yet), and the bread is finely-textured almost a cross between quick bread and pound cake and is not dry at all. The flavor is very nice, and I'll make again. UPDATE: I have made this recipe 3 times now with the adjustments from my original review. Each time it's turned out a tender, finely-textured loaf that's not dry. But I passed the recipe on to my mom, and hers turned out very dry. My advice: have your butter extremely soft but not completely melted and use soft-wheat (or pastry) flour. Remove the bread from the oven just before you think it's done (the top should still be just the slightest bit soft in the center). I also bake mine between 325 and 350 so the crust doesn't overbrown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Wow, this is wonderful. My whole family loved it. The only thing I did different was add a cinnamon and sugar coating in the pan before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coldspring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
After reading both recipes and reviews for Eggnog Quick Bread, I combined reviewers suggestions. I added: 1 package (1 oz size) Vanilla instant puddding, 5 Tbsp oil (instead of using the melted butter), 1 tsp nutmeg, just 2 Cups flour, 1 1/3 Cups eggnog, 2 Tbsp Rum and 2 tsp Vanilla. The batter is very thick and I made muffins instead of loaves yesterday.They are delicious, moist and tastes just like eggnog but isn't overpowering. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
very yummy..i added the 5T of oil so it wouldnt be too dry, next time i think i will decrease the eggnog just a bit..but thats my own personal preference....very yummy though!! will make again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Can be a bit dry if you over cook. Made into mini-loaves. Made a trifle out of it with strawberries and white chocolate pudding. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKGRRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I made this 5 days ago & just tried it! Is great!! I made 6 small loves to give away..i used captain Morgan spiced rum instead of rum extract.Also added the 6 tablespoons of oil too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
At first it sounded original, but after I took it out of the oven, it didn't rise like most breads would. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Very good! Great to serve alongside pumpkin bread for a holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Scott Andrews

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very good---I added bananas to this because I needed to use them up. What a great idea to use eggnog instead of milk! I made mini-loaves and sprinkled them with Christmas-colored sugar for my cookie tray. I also used real rum as I did not have any rum extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Especially after it sits overnight, this bread has great flavor. With guidance from previous users (gotta love allrecipes's devoted reviewers!) and my own intuition, I made the following changes: 1/2 c. of butter plus 5 T of oil 1 T of rum instead of 2 tsp. rum extract 2 tsp. vanilla extract instead of 1 extra nutmeg This bread is less moist than some kinds but is plenty moist with the changes I made. The crust is also deliciously crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States