Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
My first batch turned out really dry. So, I kicked up the eggnog from 1 cup to 1 1/4 cups. Totally made a difference in the texture! I also used longer bread pans (from Ikea), and baking time came to roughly 25 minutes. There's room for interpretation, but this is a great recipe for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlipChick76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I was actually looking for a recipe to use up 2 reeeeally ripe bananas, and some eggnog in a carton. After reading the dryness issues, I used brown sugar and the bananas and otherwise stuck to the recipe. Sprayed a bundt pan with Pam and sprinkled cinnamon sugar on it and it turned out just fine!! I also added spices, because I can't stop myself from it....cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I added banana and added oil and I agree with the other reviews that this bread is a bit too dry for my taste. However it definitely gets a little better with time. Try the other quick eggnog bread on this site - I found it to be a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I wish I had read the modifications others used. Mine was dry and the rum extract seems too overpowering. I think I will try again with applesauce, that always makes my other breads so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Yum made this for christmas 2008 was a big hit everyone liked it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is a great recipe! I DID make some changes, so I didn't think it would be fair to give it 5 stars (however, I think the alterations make it a 5 star recipe!). I added the 5 Tbsp. oil as recommended by some other reviewers. I cut back the flour to 2 cups, increased the eggnog to 1 1/3 cups, and used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. I used half brown sugar, and half white, and instead of rum extract, I put in 1 Tbsp. Bailey's Irish Cream. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I made this in mini loaves to give to my neighbors. We loved it!! I didn't have any rum extract so I didn't add that. I put in the 5 Tbl of oil like the reviews said and added 1 tsp cinnamon. The only thing was it seemed to be more dense then I'd of liked. I will try this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My mini-cakes tasted like snickerdoodles but that might be because I used 1/2 c. of pumpkin pie spice eggnog & 1/2 c. reg. eggnogg. They do seem a bit dry though & more cake-like texture than I was expecting from a quick bread. I think I'll add a little oil next time to try to moisten it up a bit. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil momma jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: American Fork, Utah, USA
Living In: Richfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Loved this bread. I made a powdered sugar w/eggnog drizzle for the top sprinkled with a little nutmeg. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a good not-too-sweet bread. I used premium eggnog made by a local dairy and spiced rum instead of extract. I always add more vanilla and use soft-wheat flour (makes for more tender baked goods, and I upped the nutmeg a bit (using fresh nutmeg is key, also) I tried a slice after cooling (haven't stored overnight yet), and the bread is finely-textured almost a cross between quick bread and pound cake and is not dry at all. The flavor is very nice, and I'll make again. UPDATE: I have made this recipe 3 times now with the adjustments from my original review. Each time it's turned out a tender, finely-textured loaf that's not dry. But I passed the recipe on to my mom, and hers turned out very dry. My advice: have your butter extremely soft but not completely melted and use soft-wheat (or pastry) flour. Remove the bread from the oven just before you think it's done (the top should still be just the slightest bit soft in the center). I also bake mine between 325 and 350 so the crust doesn't overbrown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States