Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Not enough eggnog taste. I did add 3 tablespoons of oil. It wasn't dry. I would add more nutmeg and more eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
used small packet of instant vanilla, added maybe 1tbsp vege oil (healthy dash to be specific) and 1/2 cup extra egg nog. otherwise, made as written. Had to cook longer because of the extra liquid, maybe a total of 60 minutes (started w/40, went 5 minutes more, 5 more, 4 more, etc)Smelled like choc. chip cookies while baking (now i have to make cc cookies for a disappointed hubby). Turned out moist and flavorful. I could taste the egg nog so I wasn't sure if hubby would like, but he seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
The bread was good, maybe it was the brand of eggnog I used but it didn't taste very much like eggnog even though I doubled the eggnog. I also added double nutmeg and some cinnamon. The bread was moist, probably due to the extra eggnog. My kids liked it, so I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Bread is delicious - but had to bake 1 hr 20 mins. to bake middle. At 55 min., put a foil "tent" over to prevent crust from burning. Have made it 4 times now. Used 9 x 5 pan once, then tried 8.5 x 4.5 pan - still took 1 hr. 20 min. May try smaller loaf pans the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was delicious! I coated with powdered sugar icing. Couldn't find rum extract, so I added a couple of tablespoons of rum. Our holiday guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Added a small box of banana cream instant pudding mix, about 1.5 cups of eggnog and about 2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips. My 2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
When I first tried this I wasn't sure if I liked it or not, but the more I ate the more I liked it. I finished off two loaves practically by myself. lol. I did follow other reviews and added oil and about half a cup more eggnog. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillcasey84
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I can not say enough good things about this bread!!...However, I did change some things about this recipe (because so many people complained that it was dry). I added an extra 1/2 c eggnog, decreased the flour to 2 cups, added 1 small box instant vanilla pudding mix to the batter, and used 1/4 c butter + 1/4 c oil instead of the whole 1/2 c butter. I creamed the butter, sugar and oil until they were very fluffy before I added the rest of the ingredients. Also, I did not have any rum extract, so I just used 2-3 tbs of the real stuff instead ;) The finished product turned out to be very moist and sooooo yummy! I made a delicious eggnog glaze to go on top, which realllllly adds to this bread. Glaze: 1c confectioners' sugar, then mix in eggnog and rum until you reach your desired consistency and taste (add a healthy amount of rum, you will be happy that you did). The glaze and this bread together were amazing! Next time I might try a flavored eggnog and see how it turns out :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillcasey84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
i follow the recipe for it doing everything it say, but the bread was dry tasting and hard to swallow. Unforturely I give mimi loaves for gift I hadf to appozine to the people I give it to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good and pretty quick to whip up. I made this in my bread maker and it turned out really moist with a 1/2 cup more eggnog in the mix. My family really loves it but it is so very sweet they would only take one piece of it a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States