Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I loved this, the eggnog flavor is wonderful. I added the extra eggnog and extra nutmeg like some of the others here. It was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very tasty! Made it exactly as recipe stated. Fast, easy and delicious. Very easy to double the recipe too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I read other reviewers, and this didn't come out dry at all. Very addictive. I used a soy milk based egg nog and it was great, ate up within 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This came out very moist and flavorful. Made exactly as recipe calls for except I accidentally added about 2 T more of butter. For the next time I will probably cut back or eliminate the nutmeg since i'm not a big fan of the flavor. Next time I'll prob increase the rum. I used the real stuff not extract. Very good recipe! EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made several of the suggested changes to this recipe (decreased sugar to 3/4 cup, used 1/2 butter and 1/2 oil, decreased flour to 2 cups, used 1 tbsp. of spiced rum and increased nutmeg to 1/2 tsp.). It turned out great with a nice, subtle eggnog flavor (not too overpowering) and very moist. Next time, I will decrease the sugar further to 1/2 cup as it's still a little too sweet for me (the egg nog alone is pretty sweet). Baked in 3 mini loaf pans for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Used black walnut extract instead of rum extract because I don't like that flavor in baked goods. Suggest creaming the butter and sugar first, then adding eggs, eggnog, extract and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Tony and Ellie liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Luba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Yum! Made 4 small loaves, baked at 350 for about 45 mins or so (kept adding 3 mins, lost track of how many times.) :) Per other reviews, used 1 1/2 cups egg nog, doubled the nutmeg, and added a box of vanilla pudding. Used the glaze on the cooled loaves, but only made 1/2 & it was plenty - used 1 c powdered sugar, 1 T butter, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract & about 1/4 cup egg nog (give or take depending on consistency.) Next time, I may glaze them when they are still warm, and poke holes in the top first to let the glaze seep into the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This bread is fantastic! I always, always read reviews for any recipe I find online and I followed everyone's suggestions for keeping this a moist bread. I used 2 cup of flour, a packet of vanilla instant pudding, 1 1/4 cup eggnog, and I added a tablespoon of vegetable oil for good measure. In addition to a loaf, this recipe made 4 "cupcakes" for me, my husband, my son, and my daughter and I coated those with an eggnog glaze that a previous reviewer suggested. I used a little bit of cream cheese in the glaze as well and the consistency was more of an icing that glaze, which I prefer. I needed to cook this for 55 min for the middle to set fully and at that point the sides and top were starting to burn. May try the "tenting" method next time. Tasted delicious nonetheless, this one is a keeper! Now that it passed the "family test", it's on to making this for friends and coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamaria88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Everyone loved this and Mom asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States