Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I ended up making this three times the week of Christmas! Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Made it first using real rum instead of extract otherwise as written and found it to be too dry. Second time I tried using vanilla pudding mix added as well as extra eggnog, it was more dense but still kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
After reading a bunch of reviews, I made the following changes - 1/4 C Butter & 1/4 C Canola oil for 1/2 cup butter, used 3 tsp of dark rum instead of extract, added 1/2 more egg nog & a dash more vanilla. Be sure to cream butter & sugar before you add rest of wet ingredients. I've made 15 small loaves this season & everyone has loved it. The longer it sits the better it tastes. Unfortunately, I've only tasted a few slices but plan on changing that once this last batch comes out of the oven. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
As others suggested, I added the pudding mix, increased eggnog, and added 2 T. oil. I also add a cinnamon and sugar sprinkle to the top before putting it in the oven which I love -the top is crunchy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I would have rated this recipe higher had it been clearer about the order of adding ingredients. Be sure to CREAM THE BUTTER AND SUGAR TOGETHER before adding the other wet ingredients to the batter! Otherwise, it will be very difficult to incorporate the butter into the wet mixture. I added the butter last, because it came last in the list of wet ingredients. The bread had little craters inside, where tiny pieces of butter had been trapped, then melted. The texture was a little dry and rubbery. The butter welled up at the top of the pan and set off my smoke alarm. I should have known better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This sweet bread/cake recipe is great and easy to make. OK, I took the other reviewers advice about the dryness. I didn't like all the fat from the butter and oil(as some said to do), so I used 1/2 c soften butter and 1/2 c light sour cream. I didn't have any dry vanilla pudding so I couldn't do that. I didn't have any rum extract so I left that out too. I upped the nutmeg to 1/2 T and the eggnog to 1 1/2 cups. This sweet bread, almost cake like, turned out DELISH!! I didn't have loaf pans, so I used my square brownie pan, only took 24 min to cook. I also added red and green sprinkles to make the mini cakes more festive. I also added choc. chips to some and coconut. I also did some w/ a caramel syrup swirl w/ a caramel kiss hidden in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I had bought a brand of eggnog I didn't like, but I didn't want to waste it! So glad I found this recipe! I used about 3/4 cup extra eggnog since the other reviews said it could be dry, just enough so the consistency of the batter looked like what I'm used to seeing and I made muffins and mini loaves. They came out perfect! I am going to make another batch for my christmas party and mix a little eggnog and powdered sugar for frosting and make glazed cupcakes with some festive sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Fabulous! Love this bread. Added 1/2 a cup of eggnog but otherwise made as written. I would suggest creaming the butter and sugar before you add the rest of the wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Did some ppl use yellow food coloring in theirs? B/c mine did not turn out looking like the picture. I did alter my recipe, but I rated based on taste alone, which should not change. What did was my cooking time. I did muffins, and they took a lot longer than normal. In total, it took me close to half an hour to finish baking. It's partly due to the fact that I doubled the liquid (2c of eggnog) and used half oil for the butter...and also, how I kept on taking them out to check. I think the alteration also made the product a little spongier. The taste was fine, but nothing that bowled me over. If I were to make it again, I would add only half a cup more of eggnog at most. Other alterations were increasing the nutmeg to half a teaspoon, and using pudding mix. Update: The ppl at work gobbled them up. So I added one more star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
As other recommended, I added 1 package of instant vanilla pudding, and 1/2 cup extra eggnog. What a nice and different quick bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Ronda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States