Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
After reading the reviews I used dark rum instead of extract and added 2 T of oil and an extra 1/2 cup of eggnog. I had light eggnog on hand and followed the cake-making method of creaming the butter and sugar and then adding the eggs, one at a time, then the extract and rum. The flour and eggnog were added in alternating parts and I ended up with enough batter for my two 6-cup bundt pans. A very moist and delicious cake resulted so I'm not going to call this a bread. It is not overly sweet but the idea of an eggnog glaze sounds wonderful and I'll try that next time. I think it would also make a lovely base for a trifle or even a holiday version of tiramisu. I'll make it every time I have leftover eggnog from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was really delicious and everyone LOVED it!! I don't feel like the egg nog flavor would've been as obvious had I not used 2 cups like suggested in other comments. I also used the oil (5 tbsp butter & 3 tbsp oil) and the vanilla pudding (big box) and did not use the rum extract (I just didn't have any - I think it would've been yummy). One thing - I think with all of the extras I had to bake it longer than the recipe called for which I don't think anyone mentioned. I believe I ended up cooking it for 80 minutes. I can hardly wait to make this for Christmas next year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Simply delicious! Made during the holidays, and everyone loved it. Easy recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I ended up making this three times the week of Christmas! Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Made it first using real rum instead of extract otherwise as written and found it to be too dry. Second time I tried using vanilla pudding mix added as well as extra eggnog, it was more dense but still kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
After reading a bunch of reviews, I made the following changes - 1/4 C Butter & 1/4 C Canola oil for 1/2 cup butter, used 3 tsp of dark rum instead of extract, added 1/2 more egg nog & a dash more vanilla. Be sure to cream butter & sugar before you add rest of wet ingredients. I've made 15 small loaves this season & everyone has loved it. The longer it sits the better it tastes. Unfortunately, I've only tasted a few slices but plan on changing that once this last batch comes out of the oven. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
As others suggested, I added the pudding mix, increased eggnog, and added 2 T. oil. I also add a cinnamon and sugar sprinkle to the top before putting it in the oven which I love -the top is crunchy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I would have rated this recipe higher had it been clearer about the order of adding ingredients. Be sure to CREAM THE BUTTER AND SUGAR TOGETHER before adding the other wet ingredients to the batter! Otherwise, it will be very difficult to incorporate the butter into the wet mixture. I added the butter last, because it came last in the list of wet ingredients. The bread had little craters inside, where tiny pieces of butter had been trapped, then melted. The texture was a little dry and rubbery. The butter welled up at the top of the pan and set off my smoke alarm. I should have known better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This sweet bread/cake recipe is great and easy to make. OK, I took the other reviewers advice about the dryness. I didn't like all the fat from the butter and oil(as some said to do), so I used 1/2 c soften butter and 1/2 c light sour cream. I didn't have any dry vanilla pudding so I couldn't do that. I didn't have any rum extract so I left that out too. I upped the nutmeg to 1/2 T and the eggnog to 1 1/2 cups. This sweet bread, almost cake like, turned out DELISH!! I didn't have loaf pans, so I used my square brownie pan, only took 24 min to cook. I also added red and green sprinkles to make the mini cakes more festive. I also added choc. chips to some and coconut. I also did some w/ a caramel syrup swirl w/ a caramel kiss hidden in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I had bought a brand of eggnog I didn't like, but I didn't want to waste it! So glad I found this recipe! I used about 3/4 cup extra eggnog since the other reviews said it could be dry, just enough so the consistency of the batter looked like what I'm used to seeing and I made muffins and mini loaves. They came out perfect! I am going to make another batch for my christmas party and mix a little eggnog and powdered sugar for frosting and make glazed cupcakes with some festive sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States