Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This was a very good recipe. I had read the reviews about it being a little dry so I added a 1/2 cup more eggnog and a packet of vanilla instant pudding to the mix. It did the trick! It was so moist, everyone loved it! Will make this a Chriatmas treat from now on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I LOVE THIS BREAD! I have made it in mini-muffins, regular muffins, mini loaves and regular loaves. I have added many different flavorings in stead of the rum flavoring. I have made coconut eggnog bread, orange eggnong bread, (tastes like a creamsicle!), lemon, chocolate, maple, butter. The possibilities are endless. After Christmas I buy eggnog (when it goes on sale) I then separate it into 1 cup measurements. I freeze them so I can make this bread in the middle of summer. It dosen't change the flavor or texture of the eggnog. This is an awesome bread and will be making it many times. I also use pumpkin pie spice instead of just nutmeg, It's really good that way too. It does dry out quickly, but all that means it that you have to eat more of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
The best "holiday" quick bread! Cream butter with sugar and add 3 tablespoons oil to improve moisture. A very soft almost cake like bread. My 3 yr. old son loves this bread as well as the whole family. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I took the advice from other reviewers and added a small package of vanilla pudding, increased the egg nog to 1 1/3 cup, and used 2 T. of real rum. The bread was delicous. It has more of a pound cake consistency than a bread. I'll be making this every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Great eggnog flavor; very moist. I did not hink it needed any glaze. Do make these changes: 2C eggnog ; 1/2 butter & 1/2 oil instead of butter only; 1/2 t. nutmeg; 1 box INSTANT vanilla pudding (added dry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This bread rocks. I doubled the nutmeg (heavy on the nutmeg when I drink eggnog) and it turned out great. This is a BIG hit during Christmas season. Update: found an Eggnog Glaze to add to this bread if desired. Eggnog Glaze: 2 c confec sugar, 2 T butter (softened), 1 t vanilla, 3+ T eggnog. In med bowl mix all glaze ingred except eggnog. Add in 3T (or more) eggnog until glaze reaches desired consistency. With butter knife apply over completely cooled loaf. (see pic I've uploaded to this recipe page with the glaze on it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
With the previous notes about it being dry, I added 3 tbsps. oil. That did the trick. Very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This is one of my favorite holiday recipes. The original recipe I used had no extracts or nutmeg in it and has a cup of drained, whole maraschino cherries and a half cup of chopped nuts. I drizzle the cooled loaves with a glaze made of eggnog and powdered sugar, and if I'm giving it away, I decorate the glazed top with a cluster or two of halved cherries (rinsed and patted dry)(cut side down) and green candied cherries cut into slivers to resemble leaves arranged in threes around the cherries. I have also seen these loaves made in clean, greased cans (15 to 18 oz) and the domed top decorated as described above. (Remove from can by using a can opener on the bottom.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mRS.L
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a really good recipe. I did add a small box of vanilla pudding and I increased the eggnog to 1 1/3 c. I baked it 55min but I think I should have taken it out at 50min since the edges are crunchy - not burnt - but crunchy. I added a glaze to the top and I am glad I did because it really adds to the flavor of the bread. For my glaze I mixed 1c of powdered sugar and added rum extract and eggnog until I liked the consistency and flavor I liked. I will make this again but bake it a little less. I added a picture with the glaze :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mRS.L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Wow! This is so good; it will be become a new holiday staple. Extremely flavorable and VERY moist. After reading through a lot of reviews and combining various ideas, here were my modifications: * Increased eggnog to 1-1/2 cups * Used 3 Tbl dark rum instead of the extract * Increased vanilla to 2 tsp. * Instead of 1/2 c butter, I used 1/4 c butter plus 1/4 cup oil * Doubled the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. * Added 1 packet (from 3.4 oz box) of vanilla pudding powder and sifted it in with the flour. * I creamed the sugar, oil & butter until it was light and fluffy before adding the eggs, etc. I added the eggs one at a time, mixing between eggs. * Added a glaze - it came out very thick like a frosting, but melted into a nice glaze when spread on the hot bread. I used 1/2 c powdered sugar, 1-1/2 tsp butter, 1/4 tsp vanilla, 1-1/2 Tbl eggnog and 1-1/2 tsp rum. (Note: it made a plenty of glaze for a thin layer.) After the bread came out of the oven I let it sit for about 5 minutes, then poked some holes in it with a cake tester and spread a thin layer of the glaze on top. I got 4 full mini loaves out of this. I left a little bit of room when filling the pans to allow room for the glaze, and they came out nice and rounded on top. Can not tell you how delicious and moist and flavorful this is! It's fairly sweet with the glaze, so it's filling. But we thought the glaze added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States