Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I had a carton of eggnog to use before going bad. I set out to find 3 recipes to use it up. I started with this quick bread and moved on to pancakes. This bread is ok made as written. Everyone who made this had a different variation as their way to make it. I made as written and baked it in 3 mini loaves for 35 minutes. The taste was good…….a little dry as far as quick breads go. My family actually liked it toasted best with a little butter. I would try this recipe again, but I would tweak it using some of the suggestions from other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
LOVED this bread! After reading the other suggestions I did increase the egg nog to 1 1/2 cups and I used 2 Tbsp of Bacardi's white rum instead of the extract. It was so moist and delicious. It was more like a pound cake, sweet enough for a dessert. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made this recipe a couple of weeks before Christmas 2012. Froze it and took it out just before Christmas. It was good but we had so much good food that we couldn't enjoy and eat everything. Try to make it another time when not over whelmed with other food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
The flavor of this bread is very good but you need to add something extra ti make it moist. I would suggest 1/2 c of plain Greek yogurt and 1/4 cup of extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe! I had some leftover eggnog from the holidays that I didn't want to go to waste and found this recipe. It had a great flavor and was very moist. Next time I might cut back on the rum extract a little because it was pretty strong. I also added a glaze over the top which definitely sealed in the moisture. The glaze recipe is: 2 cups of confectioners sugar and 6 tablespoons of eggnog. I would recommend adding the eggnog in gradually so the glaze does not get too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
After reading the reviews I used dark rum instead of extract and added 2 T of oil and an extra 1/2 cup of eggnog. I had light eggnog on hand and followed the cake-making method of creaming the butter and sugar and then adding the eggs, one at a time, then the extract and rum. The flour and eggnog were added in alternating parts and I ended up with enough batter for my two 6-cup bundt pans. A very moist and delicious cake resulted so I'm not going to call this a bread. It is not overly sweet but the idea of an eggnog glaze sounds wonderful and I'll try that next time. I think it would also make a lovely base for a trifle or even a holiday version of tiramisu. I'll make it every time I have leftover eggnog from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was really delicious and everyone LOVED it!! I don't feel like the egg nog flavor would've been as obvious had I not used 2 cups like suggested in other comments. I also used the oil (5 tbsp butter & 3 tbsp oil) and the vanilla pudding (big box) and did not use the rum extract (I just didn't have any - I think it would've been yummy). One thing - I think with all of the extras I had to bake it longer than the recipe called for which I don't think anyone mentioned. I believe I ended up cooking it for 80 minutes. I can hardly wait to make this for Christmas next year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Simply delicious! Made during the holidays, and everyone loved it. Easy recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I ended up making this three times the week of Christmas! Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Made it first using real rum instead of extract otherwise as written and found it to be too dry. Second time I tried using vanilla pudding mix added as well as extra eggnog, it was more dense but still kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States