Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I just love it. But for a little something extra I added 1/2 a cup of vanilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSDPT
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
So yummy, and I even used light egg nog and egg beaters! I would just go a little light on the rum flavor unless you REALLY like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I wanted to love this, but it turn out as good as I'd hoped. I had to bake it for 1hr and 15 min. It was really hard/crunchy on the outside and hard to cut through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Brotherton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This bread would probably earn itself a full 5 stars next time, but for now it just doesn't quite cut it. I followed the recipe exactly, and the imitation rum ruins it. I'm not sure how real rum would change baking consistencies and such, but I think it's worth figuring it out. The imitation stuff leaves such an awful taste in your mouth that you no longer want to eat anymore!! It's truly horrible! If not for that, I think I would love this. The consistency is nice, and it was moist. Just one bump in the road to figure out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I had a carton of eggnog to use before going bad. I set out to find 3 recipes to use it up. I started with this quick bread and moved on to pancakes. This bread is ok made as written. Everyone who made this had a different variation as their way to make it. I made as written and baked it in 3 mini loaves for 35 minutes. The taste was good…….a little dry as far as quick breads go. My family actually liked it toasted best with a little butter. I would try this recipe again, but I would tweak it using some of the suggestions from other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
LOVED this bread! After reading the other suggestions I did increase the egg nog to 1 1/2 cups and I used 2 Tbsp of Bacardi's white rum instead of the extract. It was so moist and delicious. It was more like a pound cake, sweet enough for a dessert. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made this recipe a couple of weeks before Christmas 2012. Froze it and took it out just before Christmas. It was good but we had so much good food that we couldn't enjoy and eat everything. Try to make it another time when not over whelmed with other food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
The flavor of this bread is very good but you need to add something extra ti make it moist. I would suggest 1/2 c of plain Greek yogurt and 1/4 cup of extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe! I had some leftover eggnog from the holidays that I didn't want to go to waste and found this recipe. It had a great flavor and was very moist. Next time I might cut back on the rum extract a little because it was pretty strong. I also added a glaze over the top which definitely sealed in the moisture. The glaze recipe is: 2 cups of confectioners sugar and 6 tablespoons of eggnog. I would recommend adding the eggnog in gradually so the glaze does not get too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
After reading the reviews I used dark rum instead of extract and added 2 T of oil and an extra 1/2 cup of eggnog. I had light eggnog on hand and followed the cake-making method of creaming the butter and sugar and then adding the eggs, one at a time, then the extract and rum. The flour and eggnog were added in alternating parts and I ended up with enough batter for my two 6-cup bundt pans. A very moist and delicious cake resulted so I'm not going to call this a bread. It is not overly sweet but the idea of an eggnog glaze sounds wonderful and I'll try that next time. I think it would also make a lovely base for a trifle or even a holiday version of tiramisu. I'll make it every time I have leftover eggnog from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States