Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
read all the review,excellent made following changes as per reviews 2 cups of flour 1/2 t fresh grated nutmeg 1 1/4 cup eggnog 1/3 cup sour cream very moist, will make again, next time I will try the instant pudding to see if any better. I didn't have any on hand. My husband doen't want me to make any changes. I made 3 mini loafs cooked for 35 minutes. The pans were the dark ones, so I placed it on a cookie sheet, because it cooks faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
The taste is wonderful. Even the batter was delicious. I added 1/3 c chopped pecans & a little extra nutmeg. I would have given it 5 stars but I had trouble with the cooking time/temp. At the stated temp, 50 minutes wasn't enough. By the time my toothpick came out clean, the crust of my bread was almost burned. I used the 9.5" loaf pan. Can someone figure out what the correct temp and time are?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe was amazing! I made it for my family to use up some eggnog and it was gone within the first night. I'm about to make it again since my mom went out and bought more eggnog so I could make some more! I followed other reviewer's tips and added two tablespoons of canola oil; it came out wonderfully dense and moist. I also doubled the nutmeg and used a tablespoon of rum instead of the rum-flavored extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britta Fogerty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is the exact same recipe as the other Eggnog Quick Bread listed on this site. My mini-cakes tasted like snickerdoodles but that might be because I used 1/2 c. of pumpkin pie spice eggnog & 1/2 c. reg. eggnogg. They do seem a bit dry though & more cake-like texture than I was expecting from a quick bread. I think I'll add a little oil next time to try to moisten it up a bit. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Busk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: American Fork, Utah, USA
Living In: Richfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I was excited for this bread because it is SO different. I thought it came out bad, didn't taste that great and was very pound cake like. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
SOOO good! I followed the suggestion to increase eggnog to 1.5 cups and add a small packet of vanilla pudding. I made muffins (12, but they were big) and they baked for 27 min. UPDATE: I did not cream the butter and sugar first and my muffins were ugly! Definitely cream your butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I tried this recipe for something new at Thanksgiving and it was a big hit! Good texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I don't like eggnog but I gave it a try. Not bad. Everyone else stated it was good. Did not come out dry as some people said. I baked mine for about 50 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I love this bread. I make it every Christmas. I always add a little extra nutmeg (at 1/4 t extra) and sometimes 1/2 t cinnamon as well. I think next time I will add pudding to increase the moistness as others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missygail

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was so easy to put together! I used a cup of the Easiest Eggnog from this site in this recipe. Everything went together so well. This recipe made one big loaf. It was done in about an hour, give or take, but I had to put a piece of tented foil over the top so the bread wouldn't burn on top. After it had cooled, I made a quick vanilla-rum glaze and drizzled it over the top to really make it extra tasty. This reminds me somewhat of the pound cake that my grandmother used to make when I was a kid. It would make a great gift bread or breakfast bread. I like this bread. So did my kids and husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States