Eggnog Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made quite a few changes but still this came out excellent; it was delicious, soft and moist. First off, I had only dried cranberries so I added 1 cup cranberries and reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. I also added 1/2 cup of almonds. Then I added 6oz of salted butter instead of 8oz (1 cup) and did not add salt. I did add 2tbsp of oil though. Also,I made the glaze with eggnog (instead of water), brandy and sugar. It came out perfect with the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Followed the recipe and I really like the taste, but it came out pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This cake was a big hit at Thanksgiving dinner. I only used dried cranberries and cherries because that is what I had on had. I didn't use the brandy called for either. I used two tablespoons water and a 1/8 teaspoon rum extract. In the glaze instead of water I used two tablespoons of eggnog and brandy extract. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
really taste , i used 1 cup of cranberries only for fruitsand i added 1 tbs ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yessenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very delicious! Can't taste the eggnog; I didn't have cranberries so I did what another reviewer did, I substituted fresh blueberries and cherries in proportions to equal 3/4 cup and soaked these in the sherry I had instead of brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEARL20
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Moist, tall cake. I didn't have any dried fruit, so instead I used 6oz. fresh blueberries and 6oz. cooked fresh cranberries. Also didn't have brandy, so I used rum instead. For the glaze, I mixed together cranberry juice, rum and powdered sugar. The eggnog flavor really came through and I think this is one of the best pound cakes my husband and I has ever eaten! We aren't sharing it with anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
An instant holiday favorite! I can see myself making this every year! I was going to take this to work, but my husband wouldn't let me. :) Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I made this recipe last year for friends and family, it was a hit! They asked me to do it again this year. I made individual loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Juan, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This is destined to become a family holiday favorite. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States