Eggnog Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was one of 5 recipes I made for our family's annual Christmas dessert party. It got rave reviews and was picked as the one to take to the party over the others. I also did not use the custard but made a glaze with 2 C powdered sugar, 2 tbsp butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 3 tbsp eggnog (plus more to get desired consistency), and 1 tbsp butterscotch schnapps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I actually make a pound cake extremely similar to this one. The cake its self is all the same except I add a package of instant vanilla pudding mix and an extra egg. And after it comes out of the oven, I only dust it with powdered sugar. But I do think your custard would be very yummy with it. This cake is on demand the instant eggnog is back in the stores this time of year! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELM82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I used this recipe because I couldn't find the one I've used in the past and the store was out of the Borden's canned eggnog, which has the recipe I use. Anyway, I am sure glad they were out, because this was super easy and it came out better and more evenly cooked than the other recipe. I used a Pampered Chef Stone bundt pan, and it needed an extra 5 min, so 50 min, but it was EXCELLENT! and super easy, which is always a plus during the holidays! I took it to a Christmas Eve gathering and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Delicious--I used a Duncan Hines butter yellow cake mix, real butter, and a teaspoon of nutmeg, because I love nutmeg. Instead of making the custard, I drizzled an icing made of powdered sugar, butter, eggnog, and a tablespoon of butterscotch schnappes--YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Everyone I make this for raves about it. We love it at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chryzc
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
delicious! easy and tasty :) i did not make the custard, but instead followed another suggestion and made icing w/ powdered sugar, butter & eggnog. i didn't have butterscotch schnappes, so i put a little bit of vanilla extract instead. the cake was great, the icing was fantastic---definitely a keeper! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I took another user's advice and added an egg and I used Super Moist cake mix (w/pudding already added). I would agree with another's assertion that this isn't pound cake consistency. It still got eaten up at the family gathering tonight. I liked it and I don't even like egg nog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 17sugars
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I am so glad I found this recipe! Followed other recommendations and doubled the nutmeg and added one extra egg and a packet of vanilla instant pudding. Also, I used vanilla cake mix (I think it was white) and light eggnog. I made these into cupcakes since I was short on time. Recipe made almost exactly 24. I skipped the custard sauce, and made a glaze as suggested with eggnog, powdered sugar, and butterscotch schnapps- this was a little tricky with the cupcakes, since the papers got a bit sticky, but it was worth it! Cupcakes were great that night and the next morning, but didn't keep for long after. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I made this cake exactly as the recipe was written, including the custard and it was superb! I mean really delicious. I will try some of the variations others suggested for variety, but the original is soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I am not much of a baker...but I must comment on how easy this cake was. I made it for the first time for a group of friends and there was none left by the end of the night. I made it exactly the way it was written including the custard. My husband kept commenting the whole night how good the cake was and how good the "icing" was. I think I may use it on other desserts as well. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mestizaku

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States