Eggnog Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
With a full unopened quart of eggnog leftover from Christmas this was just the recipe to make good use of it. I don't like the obvious "cake mix taste" of a yellow cake mix, so I used a French Vanilla cake mix, butter rather than margarine, and 1 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg. While I'm sure the custard sauce is as delicious as this cake is, I didn't make it only because I'm sending the cake with hubby for the office tomorrow and it would have been impractical. So I made a glaze of powdered sugar, butter, eggnog and a little rum. It was yummy, but I think next time I'll leave out the butter. I garnished the cake with some halved maraschino cherries and sprinkled it with a bit of ground nutmeg, which looked very appropriate for an eggnog cake. The overall result was a moist and delicious, delicately eggnog flavored cake with a tender crumb. I don't care if it should or shouldn't be called "pound cake"...it is a wonderful cake no matter what you call it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Delicious--I used a Duncan Hines butter yellow cake mix, real butter, and a teaspoon of nutmeg, because I love nutmeg. Instead of making the custard, I drizzled an icing made of powdered sugar, butter, eggnog, and a tablespoon of butterscotch schnappes--YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was one of 5 recipes I made for our family's annual Christmas dessert party. It got rave reviews and was picked as the one to take to the party over the others. I also did not use the custard but made a glaze with 2 C powdered sugar, 2 tbsp butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 3 tbsp eggnog (plus more to get desired consistency), and 1 tbsp butterscotch schnapps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I actually make a pound cake extremely similar to this one. The cake its self is all the same except I add a package of instant vanilla pudding mix and an extra egg. And after it comes out of the oven, I only dust it with powdered sugar. But I do think your custard would be very yummy with it. This cake is on demand the instant eggnog is back in the stores this time of year! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELM82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chryzc
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
delicious! easy and tasty :) i did not make the custard, but instead followed another suggestion and made icing w/ powdered sugar, butter & eggnog. i didn't have butterscotch schnappes, so i put a little bit of vanilla extract instead. the cake was great, the icing was fantastic---definitely a keeper! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made this for New Years for the family and everyone loved it! I added a little extra nutmeg though. Instead of the custard I used an eggnog glaze (1tbl eggnog & 1/2cup powdered sugar) and drizzled over the top while warm. Everyone asked for the recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I took another user's advice and added an egg and I used Super Moist cake mix (w/pudding already added). I would agree with another's assertion that this isn't pound cake consistency. It still got eaten up at the family gathering tonight. I liked it and I don't even like egg nog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Outstanding! The custard was good enough, I am considering making as a side to my next pound cake. Even people who profess not to like egg nog loved it. Perfectly moist. Only baked for 35 min however. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very good!! Althought the custard is a bit tedious it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
When I read reviews I always look @ both the good and the bad. And see what people had done different. I made this cake Christmas eve. following the directions given but made the eggnog glaze instead of custard. My family loved it! By Christmas morning 1/2 the cake had walked off!!! It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sinead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States