Eggnog Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I actually make a pound cake extremely similar to this one. The cake its self is all the same except I add a package of instant vanilla pudding mix and an extra egg. And after it comes out of the oven, I only dust it with powdered sugar. But I do think your custard would be very yummy with it. This cake is on demand the instant eggnog is back in the stores this time of year! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELM82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I used this recipe because I couldn't find the one I've used in the past and the store was out of the Borden's canned eggnog, which has the recipe I use. Anyway, I am sure glad they were out, because this was super easy and it came out better and more evenly cooked than the other recipe. I used a Pampered Chef Stone bundt pan, and it needed an extra 5 min, so 50 min, but it was EXCELLENT! and super easy, which is always a plus during the holidays! I took it to a Christmas Eve gathering and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Delicious--I used a Duncan Hines butter yellow cake mix, real butter, and a teaspoon of nutmeg, because I love nutmeg. Instead of making the custard, I drizzled an icing made of powdered sugar, butter, eggnog, and a tablespoon of butterscotch schnappes--YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Everyone I make this for raves about it. We love it at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This pound cake tasted good but wasn't as dense as I like my pound cakes to be. It was moist but I may add more nutmeg next time to get a little more eggnog flavour. The custard was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtford

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chryzc
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
delicious! easy and tasty :) i did not make the custard, but instead followed another suggestion and made icing w/ powdered sugar, butter & eggnog. i didn't have butterscotch schnappes, so i put a little bit of vanilla extract instead. the cake was great, the icing was fantastic---definitely a keeper! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Wonderful. Super easy! I haven't tried the custard sauce yet, but the cake was super easy to make. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is b/c I didn't think it was "pound cake" consistency. Not heavy or dense enough in my opinion. But it really is tasty. If it was called "Eggnog Cake", then it would get 5 stars from me. I put one in the freezer for Christmas company and made another for us. Used a powdersugar glaze, using leftover eggnog. It was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was one of 5 recipes I made for our family's annual Christmas dessert party. It got rave reviews and was picked as the one to take to the party over the others. I also did not use the custard but made a glaze with 2 C powdered sugar, 2 tbsp butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 3 tbsp eggnog (plus more to get desired consistency), and 1 tbsp butterscotch schnapps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I took another user's advice and added an egg and I used Super Moist cake mix (w/pudding already added). I would agree with another's assertion that this isn't pound cake consistency. It still got eaten up at the family gathering tonight. I liked it and I don't even like egg nog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very good recipe. A great holiday treat! It had just the right amount of eggnog flavor. I didn't make it with the custard sauce, but it was good just plain as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States