Eggnog Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
With a full unopened quart of eggnog leftover from Christmas this was just the recipe to make good use of it. I don't like the obvious "cake mix taste" of a yellow cake mix, so I used a French Vanilla cake mix, butter rather than margarine, and 1 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg. While I'm sure the custard sauce is as delicious as this cake is, I didn't make it only because I'm sending the cake with hubby for the office tomorrow and it would have been impractical. So I made a glaze of powdered sugar, butter, eggnog and a little rum. It was yummy, but I think next time I'll leave out the butter. I garnished the cake with some halved maraschino cherries and sprinkled it with a bit of ground nutmeg, which looked very appropriate for an eggnog cake. The overall result was a moist and delicious, delicately eggnog flavored cake with a tender crumb. I don't care if it should or shouldn't be called "pound cake"...it is a wonderful cake no matter what you call it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very good recipe. A great holiday treat! It had just the right amount of eggnog flavor. I didn't make it with the custard sauce, but it was good just plain as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I took another user's advice and added an egg and I used Super Moist cake mix (w/pudding already added). I would agree with another's assertion that this isn't pound cake consistency. It still got eaten up at the family gathering tonight. I liked it and I don't even like egg nog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was one of 5 recipes I made for our family's annual Christmas dessert party. It got rave reviews and was picked as the one to take to the party over the others. I also did not use the custard but made a glaze with 2 C powdered sugar, 2 tbsp butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 3 tbsp eggnog (plus more to get desired consistency), and 1 tbsp butterscotch schnapps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Wonderful. Super easy! I haven't tried the custard sauce yet, but the cake was super easy to make. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is b/c I didn't think it was "pound cake" consistency. Not heavy or dense enough in my opinion. But it really is tasty. If it was called "Eggnog Cake", then it would get 5 stars from me. I put one in the freezer for Christmas company and made another for us. Used a powdersugar glaze, using leftover eggnog. It was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chryzc
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
delicious! easy and tasty :) i did not make the custard, but instead followed another suggestion and made icing w/ powdered sugar, butter & eggnog. i didn't have butterscotch schnappes, so i put a little bit of vanilla extract instead. the cake was great, the icing was fantastic---definitely a keeper! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This pound cake tasted good but wasn't as dense as I like my pound cakes to be. It was moist but I may add more nutmeg next time to get a little more eggnog flavour. The custard was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtford

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Everyone I make this for raves about it. We love it at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Delicious--I used a Duncan Hines butter yellow cake mix, real butter, and a teaspoon of nutmeg, because I love nutmeg. Instead of making the custard, I drizzled an icing made of powdered sugar, butter, eggnog, and a tablespoon of butterscotch schnappes--YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I used this recipe because I couldn't find the one I've used in the past and the store was out of the Borden's canned eggnog, which has the recipe I use. Anyway, I am sure glad they were out, because this was super easy and it came out better and more evenly cooked than the other recipe. I used a Pampered Chef Stone bundt pan, and it needed an extra 5 min, so 50 min, but it was EXCELLENT! and super easy, which is always a plus during the holidays! I took it to a Christmas Eve gathering and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States