Eggnog Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Even after taking it out before the recommended time it turned out a little dry. It was good but a little dry. Next time I'm taking it out even earlier and maybe adding extra eggnog to it. I didn't do the custard but instead went with one of the other reviews of a glaze made with eggnog. I do plan on using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was very good fresh. Next day it was dry but still good if heated. I did not make the custard but a glaze with confectioners sugar, eggnog and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent cake. The first thing I baked in 2010. This is a wonderful way to use up leftover eggnog. The only change I made was a "dash" more nutmeg and I did not glaze. Just dust with powdered sugar and serve. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
When I read reviews I always look @ both the good and the bad. And see what people had done different. I made this cake Christmas eve. following the directions given but made the eggnog glaze instead of custard. My family loved it! By Christmas morning 1/2 the cake had walked off!!! It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sinead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I was happy to find this quick, easy recipe. I followed the directions for the cake exactly. I did not make the custard sauce (which sound very good and would likely have added a lot to the cake) but used an eggnog powdered sugar glaze. The cake was pretty, but we all thought it "just okay." Basically, it had little distinguishing flavor. If I hadn't put in the eggnog myself (Braums - the very best, IMO), I could not have identified it as an eggnog cake. Perhaps more nutmeg might have helped. It was just an okay, rather bland cake, and to me it tasted like it was obviously a cake-mix cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This cake was easy to do and came out with a nice moistness to it. It is nothing like a pound cake. Not sure why it was named that. I added more nutmeg and some rum extract. The flavor of eggnog is very mild. Too mild for me. I did not make the custard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I am not much of a baker...but I must comment on how easy this cake was. I made it for the first time for a group of friends and there was none left by the end of the night. I made it exactly the way it was written including the custard. My husband kept commenting the whole night how good the cake was and how good the "icing" was. I think I may use it on other desserts as well. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mestizaku

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I made this cake exactly as the recipe was written, including the custard and it was superb! I mean really delicious. I will try some of the variations others suggested for variety, but the original is soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 17sugars
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I am so glad I found this recipe! Followed other recommendations and doubled the nutmeg and added one extra egg and a packet of vanilla instant pudding. Also, I used vanilla cake mix (I think it was white) and light eggnog. I made these into cupcakes since I was short on time. Recipe made almost exactly 24. I skipped the custard sauce, and made a glaze as suggested with eggnog, powdered sugar, and butterscotch schnapps- this was a little tricky with the cupcakes, since the papers got a bit sticky, but it was worth it! Cupcakes were great that night and the next morning, but didn't keep for long after. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
My cake come out very dry and crumbly - I'm wondering if I made a mistake somewhere ... Maybe beating for 2 minutes is too long? I took one reviewer's suggestion and made the glaze with Butterscotch Snapps and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States