Eggnog Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
The site didn't add that you have to clarify the butter so that the pancakes won't burn. They did however add a link at the bottom of the recipe showing how to clarify butter. For the purposes of this recipe you don't have to completely clarify it though, just heat the butter in the microwave and skim off the fat that floats on top before adding it to the mix. It is also nice if you add the hot butter to the cold milk so that it solidifies again and creats butter pockets in the pancakes when they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I love this recipe, I have made it every year on Christmas morning for the last 5 years. I add 1% milk to make the consistency better, start with 1/4 cup and add as desired. Usually 1/4 cup will do. I also don't mess with clarified butter (don't have the time) I just use oil like my Mom used to and it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalabee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
They were okay. They were way too thick. I added milk to make them more runny and then they turned out good. If it wasn't for the milk I added they would turn out burnt on the outside and runny on the inside b/c they were too thick. I think a 3/4 cup of milk should be added to the recipe to make better pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I was actually very impressed by this recipe! The pancakes were extremely fluffy and tasty, with just a hint of eggnog flavor. I'm not a huge eggnog fan, I go back and forth on it (although I do occasionally substitute eggnog for cream in my coffee, so I had some on hand). My only criticism was that the eggnog made the batter very thick so the pancakes were slightly burned before they cooked through. I'd suggest substituting up to half of the eggnog with milk. I used lowfat eggnog and skim milk. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
We really enjoyed these pancakes for our "day after Christmas" breakfast. As written the batter was thicker than I prefer so I adjusted the recipe by adding an extra egg, rum extract, nutmeg, and 1/2 cup more eggnog. Just add more eggnog until it is the desired thickness. They came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Good Recipe - not very pancake-like - more like a fluffy biscuit. I did my test run for Christmas Morning last night, and everone in the family tried some. I did not use Clarified butter, but they would have come out better if i had, since they are thick, it does take longer to cook the inside than regular pancakes. We had leftovers, so we wrapped them in wax paper and froze them. When i ran off to work in the morning i grabbed them, and ate them cold in the car after they had thawed for 30 minutes, and they were even better cold!!! Very good quick morning treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
They turned out good. Solid eggnog flavor without being overwhelming. I used about 3/4 cup eggnog about 1/4 - 1/2 cup 1% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I was skeptical with the eggnog in these but always having extra at the holidays, I went for it. Husband doesn't like "strange ingredients I put in food when experimenting but even he said these were really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Add more nutmeg, turn out very thick, takes a trick to cook without being gooy but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
These were awesome!! Nice and fluffy as well as a hint of egg nog. Not too rich...just perfect. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States