Eggnog Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These are great, but as other reviewers have said, you need to add a lot of milk until batter is the right consistency. Clarified butter does protect them from burning; since it takes a while for thick pancakes to cook it is worth the extra step. For a Christmas holiday brunch, offer warmed mincemeat (diluted with apple juice) as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I'm only giving this 3 stars because I ended up with up with a thick dough-like batter instead of a pourable type pancake batter. I added extra milk and eggnog to fix the problem and they turned out okay (I used 2 tbsp of oil instead of clarified butter). Had great flavour, but were still a bit more soft in the middle than I like. So, when you go to make this, just have extra milk and eggnog on hand to add until you get the proper pancake consistency (didn't measure the amount, just added a bit at a time. Adding regular milk will water down the flavour of the eggnog a bit, so that's why I used both regular milk and eggnog). I would garnish with a dollop of whip cream sprinkled with a bit of ground nutmeg if you wanted to fancy them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I am an experienced baker and trust me- there is something seriously wrong with this recipe. I followed it exactly- and the batter is way too thick for pancakes. Ended up trying to salvage it with milk- no one would eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made these for Christmas morning, and I think they've become a new tradition! The batter wasn't runny enough so I needed to adjust a bit there, but other than that these pancakes are great. The eggnog flavor is there, but it's not overwhelming. It's just enough to make it festive! My husband dislikes eggnog, but its flavor was light enough that he could still enjoy these pancakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
My family enjoyed this pancake recipe. I actually made 2 different ‘Eggnog Pancake’ recipes from AR. I made as written, but didn’t oil the griddle before frying. I placed the batter on a dry griddle. I think adding the butter to this recipe made the pancakes not rise as high as the other recipe. They were good, but making both recipes at the same time made us favor the other recipe over this one. I made a double batch and froze them. My guys just reheated in the microwave for a quick, warm breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Pretty good! It missed one star though because the batter was too thick. I added some more eggnog to thin it out a bit so it cooked and browned nicely over medium to medium-low heat. You just gotta be patient with these pancakes. Overall, yummy! Will make again. :9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyClover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Ater reading several reviews, I prepared the recipe using the full amount of eggnog and substituting oil for clarified butter. The batter was too thick so I added enough milk to thin to our liking. The first batch of pancakes were fluffy and light but they needed a little more ooomph so we added several gratings of whole nutmeg. Delicious. The nutmeg made all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I added more eggnog because they were to thick and they cooked fast on the outside and runny in the middle. I solved that by giving them 30seconds in the microwave. Flavor was good, but I think I'll try using eggnog coffee syrup in my favorite recipe to achieve the eggnog flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this for my family today and they were a hit. Instead of clarified butter, I used canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I simply substituted vegetable oil for the clarified butter and added about 1/2 c. milk to think the batter. Worked great and they disappeared quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Van Laar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States