Eggnog II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Simple but just what I was looking for in a cooked eggnog. I made it the first time with the cream but it was almost too thick. I left out the cream and added rum flavoring. It's just like the store bought eggnog that I love but at less than 1/4 the price. Some tips that made this easier for me: Cook this over medium heat in a double boiler (or in my case a metal bowl over a pot of boiling water). This will make the cooking take a little longer but will all but eliminate the risk of curdling. The target temperature should be 170F. This is hot enough to kill any bacteria but not hot enough to make scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
love it.u guys try my recipe 4 triple chocolate cookies they go great with eggnog
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasmine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!~!~!~!~!~!~!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This is a marvelous recipe...be careful cooking the eggs...be sure you cook on low heat and watch the consistency. I get raves everytime I cook and serve this! Great for Christmas and New Years!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I had my students in Foods and Nutrition class make this recipe. Some weren't going to try it because they didn't like eggnog, but they all ended up loving it! It's so much better than store-bought egg nog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
GREAT recipe!!! I live overseas and "eggnog" does not exist!! Only thing... I whipped the cream with confec. sugar instead of regular!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
loved it! I added some cocoa (about a table spoon) and it just made it perfect. rock on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Cool Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I love egg nog and I have been wanting to try making it for years and I'm glad I found this recipe to begin with. I did make it a bit differently. As the others suggested, I did use a double boiler and it worked out great. Also, I am not on a diet but I am trying to eat better, so I substituted the milk with some fat free half and half for 2/3 of the milk amount and then fat free condensed milk for 1/3 of the milk amount. It makes the egg nog extremely creamy which is how I like it. I also used the Splenda/sugar blend for the sugar amount listed in the recipe. Even with the changes that I made to this recipe, it truly was the best egg nog I've ever had. Prior to serving the egg nog, however, I give a splash of ameretto and then garnish with just a little bit of nutmeg. I skipped the mixing in of the whipping cream since it was already creamy enough and felt this was a step that was not necessary. I also believe, that without any changes that I made, the recipe will be one of the best egg nogs you've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My 17 year old son loves eggnog and he made this one weekend. We love it! It's so much fresher and cleaner tasting than that bought stuff. He made it exactly according to the recipe. I had read the comments and instead of whipping the cream to stiffer peaks he decided to make them softer so it wouldn't be as thick. He said that this was a perfect recipe. Thanks for sharing it with us! A definite keeper! Now my son can have eggnog whenever he wants. A note about the nutmeg: we use the fresh whole nutmeg and grate it on each cup when it's served. That's so much better than the ground. You really need to get a whole nutmeg and keep it around for your recipes, they'll taste a whole lot better for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kevil, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Barlow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States