Eggnog II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This recipe is really good, but it doesn't taste like Eggnog. It tastes like rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I agree with the previous reviewers who said that this eggnog is just too thick. If I make again, I will cut the whipping cream or substitute it with something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My 17 year old son loves eggnog and he made this one weekend. We love it! It's so much fresher and cleaner tasting than that bought stuff. He made it exactly according to the recipe. I had read the comments and instead of whipping the cream to stiffer peaks he decided to make them softer so it wouldn't be as thick. He said that this was a perfect recipe. Thanks for sharing it with us! A definite keeper! Now my son can have eggnog whenever he wants. A note about the nutmeg: we use the fresh whole nutmeg and grate it on each cup when it's served. That's so much better than the ground. You really need to get a whole nutmeg and keep it around for your recipes, they'll taste a whole lot better for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kevil, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Barlow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I love egg nog and I have been wanting to try making it for years and I'm glad I found this recipe to begin with. I did make it a bit differently. As the others suggested, I did use a double boiler and it worked out great. Also, I am not on a diet but I am trying to eat better, so I substituted the milk with some fat free half and half for 2/3 of the milk amount and then fat free condensed milk for 1/3 of the milk amount. It makes the egg nog extremely creamy which is how I like it. I also used the Splenda/sugar blend for the sugar amount listed in the recipe. Even with the changes that I made to this recipe, it truly was the best egg nog I've ever had. Prior to serving the egg nog, however, I give a splash of ameretto and then garnish with just a little bit of nutmeg. I skipped the mixing in of the whipping cream since it was already creamy enough and felt this was a step that was not necessary. I also believe, that without any changes that I made, the recipe will be one of the best egg nogs you've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
A nice simple nonalcoholic eggnog I will make it agian but will reduce eggs by 1/3 as my family doesn't like it quite so "eggie". Also have your icebath ready ahead of time and put the top of your double boiler into the icebath imeadiatly upon the eggnog reaching 170 degreas F or you will end up with a few srambled eggs in the mix. We just used nutmeg and it was wonderfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PreacherEd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made this for my daughter as she has dietary issues with artificial flavors and colors....she loved it! It was easy and she helped make it (she's 7). We all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I am happy to see such rave reviews for any recipe... don't turn your back on this one... it will turn to eggnog pudding in a flash... My guest liked it in a bowl chilled with whipped cream... I personally was looking forward to eggnog :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Cool Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
loved it! I added some cocoa (about a table spoon) and it just made it perfect. rock on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Guests didn't care for this very much. Folding in the whip cream at the end was very strange. It didn't look appetizing and tasted way too sweet and thick. Perhaps I did something wrong but I followed the recipe exactly. I will not make this again and will keep looking for another eggnog recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States