Eggnog I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
It's easy to make and tastes great. Last night I brought the ingredients over to a holiday party and whipped it up (literally) in the kitchen in less than 20 minutes. Because I didn’t have time to chill it, I placed the eggnog in a bowl nestled on top of ice in a larger bowl. It was an instant hit. Things I did: (1) Added 1 & ½ cups of dark rum (Bacardi Black); (2) Placed the mixing bowl (for whipping the cream) in the freezer for approximately 20 minutes prior to using – it helps the cream thicken faster with the hand-held blender; and (3) Sprinkled cinnamon and nutmeg on top. Will definitely use the recipe again. [2009 Note: I now use a blender (which is better than a hand-held mixer to thoroughly blend the eggs). In a blender add the eggs, sweetened condensed milk, vanilla, and a generous splash of the milk and blend well. Then pour into a large punch bowl and add the rest of the milk (and rum) and mix. Continue with step 2 from there.] Happy holidays…ho, ho, ho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nhohmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Delicious! I did make a few changes. I cut out the sweetened condensed milk, and beat in 1 C of powdered sugar instead--our family doesn't like this to be too sweet. I also add in a dash of liquor--either bourbon, rum, or amaretto. We use a bit more nutmeg than what the recipe calls for. Otherwise, this is a fantastic recipe--this is what eggnog should REALLY taste like, not the icky stuff that comes pre-made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Boy did I make a mistake making this recipe! My family won't leave me alone! "Make more eggnog Mom!" Very good! Make sure it stays mixed well, and it's so nice and thick! For extra fun I put canned whipped cream on top and sprinkle with nutmeg. Now excuse me, I have to go buy more eggs and whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Very good and easy to make. I only added 3 cups of homo milk, and a full cup of whipping cream. (I was worried it was going to be runny). I also whipped the eggs until they were very thick. It turned out awesome, and thick enough if you wanted to add in some rum. (but wonderful without as well) Very rich and creamy. My kids loved it, my son had 4 cups! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I made this for our office holiday party and it was a huge hit! I was kind of worried at first, as no one seemed to be drinking it, but finally a couple of people tried it and then spread the word. I received a ton of compliments on this - the best coming from my coworkers from India who had never had it before! They each asked for the recipe to send home. The eggnog came out smooth, creamy, and quite delicious. I did not add any nutmeg, but set out ground nutmeg, cinnamon and whipped cream for people to add to their own taste. I'll be making this again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
this was awesome! a few tips: dontadd too much salt and some extra nutmeg and whipped cream on the top makes it extra special. I made this on christmas and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
It tasted great, and it didn't require any alcohol, which my parents wouldn't let me use any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is a very good recipe! I like a stronger vanilla flavor so I did 1 1/2 tsp and put about a tsp of nutmeg in as well. I am completely happy with the taste! By the way, 1/3 pint is 2/3 cups. I had to look that up. I also heated my eggs, just to be safe because I have a toddler who loves eggnog. I heated the eggs, condensed milk and salt on a very low heat until it was about 160 degrees. Then I stirred in the milk and folded in the whipping cream as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcole63301

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Ohio, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Needs to be a little thicker. Comes out to runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States