Eggnog Gingerbread Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Definitely a dish for eggnog lovers! The first time I tried this I doubled the pudding mixture, but it didn't set properly. The next time I used four cups of eggnog with two boxes of pudding mix, and it was a touch too thick...next time I'll try adding a little milk to see how that works. I found Betty Crocker gingerbread cake mix near the brownie mixes. Instead of cranberries I used cake crumbs for garnish, and I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
really good , it can be a little big too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was absolutely DELICIOUS! So decadent, this will be a "keeper" for holidays to come. Second time I made it I added a can of eagle brand to the pudding mix along with eggnog....made it over the top rich, yum. Either way it is "yummola"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I thought this was awesome! Don't bother to eat it the first day - it will be just so-so. The next day, after the flavors have had time to meld, it's much better! I used lowfat eggnog, and my pudding was not runny at all (will do that again!). To save time (and fat), I used an 8-oz. tub of Lite Cool Whip (which means, omit the sugar and vanilla) - worked just fine! Gingerbread cookie crumbs on top made it look so pretty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was pretty good. I did use creamy Cool Whip instead of home made and also doubled the recipe so I'd have a full trifle bowl. (I gave it 5 stars because I changed the recipe and don't believe in giving anything less than 5 stars if I don't follow the recipe exactly.) I was able to find the gingerbread mix (look for it near the brownie mixes instead of the cake mixes) but actually think the spice cake mix suggested by many might taste even better. (I'm a big fan of spice cake.) It definitely makes an impressive dessert as a trifle should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I took this to two events this Christmas season and it was a hit at both. I used Cool Whip to save some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Awesome! Went over very well at my party. Even a friend who doesn't care for eggnog but loves Gingerbread said it was really good. I had another friend that had 3 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I have made this twice (with spice cake) and I love it! Everyone who ate it felt the same. 5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
We used a carrot cake mix instead of gingerbread. This was delicious! We kicked it up a notch with Kahlua, next time we will try spiced rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was really good. I made exactly as written using the optional gingersnap crumbs but not the dried cranberries. I will make this again next christmas! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States