Eggnog Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
If you like eggnog will love this fudge! Based on other reviews I used only 2 cups of sugar and 1 1/4 cup of eggnog. Before the 1st boil, set on a lower heat and make sure your sugar dissolves before boiling. This makes the whole process easier. During 2nd boil, DO NOT time it, use a candy thermometer and take to soft ball stage. Timing is not accurate and could change due to temperature of heat setting or ingredients. I put the chips in a separate bowl and poured boiled mixture over it and beat with beater. I beat just until it started to thicken. Fudge came out perfect! I chose not to add nuts. If you want to add them, after beating, stir them in. I make all of my fudge the same way. And they all come out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I was really excited when I saw this recipe, and I made it following the recipe exactly. It did not make much fudge, it was about 1/4 inch thick. But I thought I must have done something wrong so I made it again, and yet again it turned out really thin. The next time I modified the recipe slightly according to the many popular reviews of this recipe. However, it turned out soupy and inedible. I loved the taste of this recipe, so I AM going to give it 2 stars, but I'm really sorry that I can't give it more. After 3 tries I'm not going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
As many others did, I added 1/2 cup of extra egg nog and ommitted a cup of sugar. I also added a little extra nutmeg. The flavor is fabulous!! It hasn't set yet but I couldn't resist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I followed the recipe and it is not solid it is in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I'm not sure what happened while making this..? I followed everything (apart from adding slightly less sugar as advised by previous posters. For some reason, mine has not set. It's still all wobbly and semi liquid despite having sat around for about 4 hours now. put in the fridge. this didn't help. now in the freezer. hoping it will solid up enough to cut and it can be a cold dessert...unless it turns back to ooze before I reach the dinner party. Good thing this was only my second desert and not main one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Even if you don't care for eggnog this is a winner. But it does burn easy so grease that pan or you will be scrubbing your fingers to the bone to get the burned sugar off the bottom....even with constant stirring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I am an experienced fudge maker and gave this my best shot. It is delicious ( I followed the recipe's spice suggestions ) but the texture is a bit crumbly. I wonder if there is a way to combine this idea with a recipe using white chocolate as a base. If so, it could be a winner. I did add 1/2 C extra eggnog based on reviews. I wouldn't call it a disappointment, but maybe a work in progress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Like several others here, my first attempt with this recipe was a disaster - the fudge was so grainy and hard I could hardly get it out of the saucepan. I was very disappointed. I searched the net and found some other versions of this recipe and several stressed the importance of using regular, not low-fat eggnog - so I think that was my critical error. I tried it again with regular eggnog and a few other modifications I saw in other comments: 2 c. sugar, only 5 minutes on the second boil, 1/2 t. rum extract, and I used an 8 x 8 pan. It turned out perfect this time and I can't wait to serve it on Christmas Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Cut sugar to 2 cups, use a 9x9 pan, and USE A CANDY THERMOMETER to get the mixture up to about 238 degrees (Farenheit) before adding the white chocolate and butter. Note that another review says 138, which must be a typo, as the soft ball stage needed for fudge is 235 - 240 degrees. It took a while for my white chocolate chips to melt, so I kept the pan on the warm burner to help. Took a few minutes of stirring, but they finally melted, and the fudge turned out beautifully. I did a light dusting of nutmeg over the top and it looks and tastes great! Next time I may add a touch more cinnamon and nutmeg, but I think it depends on how "pre-spiced" your eggnog is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
When I tried making this, the flavor was really delicious but the texture was grainy and the fudge was too gooey/mushy to consider serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States